November 15

A long time ago, (about 21 years) I began dating a guy named Kevin.   Every so often we would eat at his house, and it was there that I was introduced to potatoes and onions fried in bacon grease.

Internet, potatoes and onions fried in bacon grease is pure ambrosia.

His mother fed my inner, secret carboholic side that I didn’t even know existed, and I think I gained 10 pounds alone just from eating at her table.

When I saw today’s Thursday’s Saturday with the Barefoot Bloggers recipe for Herb Roasted Onions, that Kelly of Baking with the Boys picked, there was absolutely no way that I could roast onion without potato.

Onions and potatoes go together like chocolate and peanut butter.  It is a combo that shouldn’t be separated.

Ever.

Whilst these were in the oven, I asked Superman to grill us some burgers.

.

Superman doesn’t use the grill often.

.

I remember why.

.

Herb-Roasted Onions (and potato)


Ingredients

  • 2 red onions
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice~~I used bottled and I only used 1 tsp
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard~~I used a bit less
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 tablespoon minced fresh thyme leaves~~I used dried
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup good olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon minced fresh parsley leaves

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Remove the stem end of each onion and carefully slice off the brown part of the root end, leaving the root intact. Peel the onion. Stand each onion root end up on a cutting board and cut the onion in wedges through the root. Place the wedges in a bowl. (along with 2 potatoes that were chopped into bite sized pieces)

For the dressing, combine the lemon juice, mustard, garlic, thyme, salt, and pepper in a large bowl. Slowly whisk in the olive oil. Pour the dressing over the onions and toss well.

With a slotted spoon, transfer the onions to a sheet pan, reserving the vinaigrette that remains in the bowl. Bake the onions for 30 to 45 minutes, until tender and browned. Toss the onions once during cooking. Remove from the oven, and drizzle with the reserved dressing. Sprinkle with parsley, season to taste and serve warm or at room temperature.

This goes together so quickly, and it tastes wonderful.

Make it.    Your mouth will say thank you.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

23 thoughts on “November 15”

  1. It certainly sounds wonderful…I will give it a try.

    My mother has always place a small onion in with her potatoes when boiling them. That onion is left in once the water has been drained and mashed or whipped right along with the potatoes. Needless to say, her mashed potatoes are marvelous and she’s never told her secret. Now I go and blab to the internet.

  2. Cook them hot and fast — burgers anyway. 😉 I like my beef a bit on the charred side, but still a bit on the rare side on the inside.

    I love fried potatoes, although I like them plain just fine, your recipe looks good.

  3. Oh be still my heart – onions and potatoes fried in bacon grease??? I’m running to the kitchen right now to make them. I fried up some bacon this morning and the grease is just waiting for me.

    Thanks. The roasted onions sound pretty good also.

    – Suzanne, the Farmer’s Wife

Comments are closed.