November 5

A couple of weeks ago, Sam from Oh Nuts contacted me and asked if I’d like to try some of their product.

I said sure, because who in their right mind turns down free nuts?

A week later, a box arrived in the mail.  In it was a pound of almonds, a pound of dried cranberries, and a pound of pecans.

Whooo Hoooo!!

I couldn’t wait to get started, but then life happened.

So, yesterday, life finally decided to take a nap, and that gave me  the chance to make something with my pecans.

A couple of years ago, my sister gave me this fabulous recipe for Honey Spiced Pecans.   I was going to make those, till I saw my BFF, Paula Deene, making Praline Pecans on her show.

What to do…what to do.

You see, I heart pralines.

I heart them with all my heart.   My dad got me hooked on them via Praline Pecan Ice cream.   Thanks daddy.

But I also heart my sister’s recipe.

So, I did what any undecided woman would do, and made up my own recipe.

This recipe is not only easy, but it is quick.   A perfect recipe for a Christmas gift as well.

First, we are going to start with our free pecans.   I used them all.

Then take some brown sugar, cinnamon, clove and salt.

Mix them well and add to your pecans.

Pour heavy cream over top.

Mix well.

Dump out onto a parchmented cookie sheet.

Bake for 10 minutes, filling your house with the aroma of Thanksgiving and Christmas all in one,  and give them a stir.

Stick them back into the oven for another 10 minutes.

Give them another stir, and let cool.

Store in an airtight container, if there are any left.

See?

Quick.  Easy.  And giftie too.

Spiced Praline Pecans

  • 2 c. whole pecans
  • ½ c. light brown sugar
  • ½ tsp. cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp. clove
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 4 tbsp. heavy cream

Preheat oven to 350º.

Put pecans in a medium bowl.   In a small bowl, combine sugar, and spices.   Add to pecans and mix.   Pour cream over top and mix well.    Spread onto a parchmented cookie sheet.   Bake for 20 minutes, stirring half way through.

Cool, and store in an airtight container.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

30 thoughts on “November 5”

  1. Oh my goodness…I was looking for a good recipe.
    Have a few pounds of pecans…needless to say I will be whipping these up for the holidays.
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. That looks good. 🙂 So, how were the nuts? (not talking about the chips or superman. I could be talking about you, though) I know you ate some before you put them in the recipe.

    How long do you think these stay fresh in a ziplock baggie and in a tin?

  3. That looks really terrific. I made some spice almonds last week and they disappeared really fast. How wonderful that you got to try their product. Woo Hoo!! I can’t wait to see what you’re going to do with the cranberries. They match well with white chocolate.

    – Suzanne, the Farmer’s Wife

  4. I wonder if freezing them would make them sticky? Probably…if not, they could be made ahead of time and frozen. Do you have any left to experiment with CC????:)LOL

    I think I may try that receipe as well. They do look yummy

  5. So I can be expecting these in the mail……?

    They do look good and I’m sure that between you, Superman and the Chips there is nothing but a few crumbs left.

    Good compromise.

  6. Sometimes I read your recipes
    and think of growing up.
    My dad took me to New Orleans once
    and we had pralines in the French Quarter.
    Actually, I always think about
    growing up times when I read your blog.
    It makes me feel good.
    Thank you.

  7. I gained 3 lbs. just gazing at your pictures. Oh, my but they look scrumptious.

    No wonder you don’t go out to lunch, not only can you probably cook better than a restaurant, but now folks are sending food to you. Talk about service.

    Do you make house calls??

  8. I’m a friend of Missplacedalaskan’s and I visit your blog when I get a chance….when I leave it I’ve gained ten lbs!!! So yummy!

Comments are closed.