November 4

In the past, I have extolled my mother’s fantastic ability to make the best apple pie in the world. (Ma, I’m free Saturday the 15th for a pie making lesson~~the guys are going hunting)

I have also talked about her  dodo’s.

When I was little I couldn’t decided whether or not I wanted dodo’s or pie more.

Generally the dodo’s won.

I am a sucker for flaky crust, butter, cinnamon and sugar.

That is what today’s TWD that Piggy of Piggy’s Cooking Journal picked for today, reminds me of.

Dodo’s.

Only it is called Rugelach.

Pronounced Roo-ga-lash?

Roo-ga-la??

Roo-ga-lak???

Dodos!

I’ll call them dodo’s, ’cause if I ask someone if they want some Rugelach, it sounds like I’m coughing up something nasty.

These little bite sized cookies are delicious.  Flaky, buttery, cinnamony, and so wonderful, you just can’t stop at one.

Please don’t ask me how many I stopped at.

Please.   It wouldn’t be good for me to have to lie to you.

You can fill them with just about anything.   Dorie suggests apricot jam, chocolate, sugar, cinnamon, currants and nuts.

Me?

I didn’t know what to do.   Having never even heard of it before, I asked my BFF Google about it.

Google suggested a traditional filling of 1 tbsp. cinnamon, ½ c. sugar, 1 tbsp. cocoa powder and ½ c. grated bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate???

I am so there!

I am out of bittersweet chocolate, but just happen to have semi-sweet mini’s, and  they were perfect.

If you’d like to make some fabulous Rugelach Dodo’s, go check out Piggy’s blog.   She has the recipe.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

64 thoughts on “November 4”

  1. I am so jealous of your rugelach…errr… dodos. They are cream cheese dough+filling perfection. Glad you enjoyed the recipe!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  2. Oh wow! Perfection! I’m scared to make mine right now. I just took the dough out and I feel like I may have overworked it since I don’t have a working food processor right now.

  3. …Oh my goodness! I just poured me a fresh cup of coffee and now I am so WANTING some of those. Notice I didn’t say “one” of those? From the looks of ’em one must eat at least three…at the very least… ;o)

    …Thanks for sharing!

    …Blessings… :o)

  4. I have a hair appointment on the 15th! Maybe we can work something out.

    I just got a receipe for Rugelach yesterday and thought I would try it!

    Also with Thanksgiving getting pretty close we need to talk menu!!!!:)

  5. Ok, your post convinced me to make these. I made last week’s cupcakes for today because jam, currants and nuts didn’t sound appealing to me. Or, you could just send some of yours to me!

  6. I’d say that Dodo’s win out over apple pie every day of the week, and I’m a pie lover. The thing is I’m a buttery/dough/cinnamon & sugar freak.

    Rugelach is one of Martha Stewart’s favorites. I think she says that about everything she makes.

    – Suzanne

  7. Yours are perfect. But then I knew they would be! I can’t wait to make these myself. I’ve already taste tested one rugelach this morning but I could eat the entire plate of them! Also, loved your halloween costumes!

  8. Now those are some gorgeous dodos!! I’m with you — the chocolate only added to the experience. I couldn’t stop eating these either — we dusted off the first batch in a couple of hours, and I had to make a second batch so that I could eat more of them.

  9. internet,

    you might want ease off all the bragging on cc’s pictures and things….she has a problem….her head starts to swell which causes her head to hurt and then her hair doesn’t fit very well. She would never tell you this..when this happens, it’s not a pretty sight…so if you could help her out with this I would be very gratefull

    dad
    p.s.

    they look good and taste super…..maybe bring some for thanksgiving?????

  10. Wow! These look amazing…and I’m not just sayin’ that. I love that layer you have of cinnamon, sugar and cocoa looks incredible. I wouldn’t have been able to stop eiteher.

  11. Great!! I’m a fellow TWD baker, and I was thinking that it would be nice if we all could chip in and get Laurie some small token/gift for all the work she does. Would you be willing to contribute? If I can get enough people, it would only be about $1 per person. No pressure 🙂 Let me know! bethberg12@yahoo.com

  12. LMAO…When I told my husband I was making Rugelach, he changed the name to Rugelackkkkkkkkkk. And yes, he makes the sound like he’s coughing up something. So, your post made me laugh!!! Yours look perfect to by the way…I’m jealous, and don’t worry, I won’t ask you how many you ate and I won’t tell you how long our batch lasted…quite embarrassing.

  13. Very fun post…great photos…and the cookies look amazing, EVEN WITH THE CHOCOLATE…LOL! You are such fun with your “dodos,” so I won’t even tell you what the “dodos” stood for around here when the boys were toddlers…LOL LOL LOL. See you next week…your blog is GREAT!

  14. Your dodos look so good! (I totally like that name better–I even googled how to pronouce rugelach and couldn’t find it, my husband thought it was a vegetable, I think he’s thinking of arugula!) Back to your divine looking dodos. Yum. Love the simple cinnamon/sugar and chocolate.
    Cute post about them, too!

  15. TO be totally honest, your post angers me. Butter is not supposed to look that attractive. I’m not supposed to want it so badly.

    Gorgeous, gorgeous rugelach. I’m ready to make more just to look somewhat like yours. Thanks for the ideas.

  16. Oh my those look good!! Thanks for making me laugh today I needed it. I wonder how they would taste with red currant jelly and coconut? No? Jelly and walnuts. I can’t like cinnamon. 😦

Comments are closed.