October 28

I have no cute story for today, because today we are talking about Chocolate.

Specifically chocolate and peanut butter.

And when I talk about chocolate (and peanut butter), everything else leaves my brain.

Clara from I ♥ Food4thought picked today’s TWD and she picked Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes.

I put a lot of thought into these cupcakes, as 1. they are chocolate and I wanted them to be fabulous, and 2.  they are chocolate and I wanted them to be fabulous.

Many people said that this recipe was dry to them, so I substituted half of the butter with oil.

Problem solved.

Some people filled them with marshmallow cream, some suggested putting an Andes mint in the middle, some didn’t fill them at all, but as you can see…I did!

And as you can clearly see, I got a bit over zealous.

Over filled them.

Which in turn made them a bit difficult to de-pan.

Which is fine with me, as cook cleans up the crumbs.

hehehehe

Then I had to think about the icing.   See, it the recipe calls for a ganache.

Ganache has its place, and I do like a good ganache~~in truffles~~but not as a topping for a cake, or a cupcake.

Cakes and cupcakes must have a ooooey-gooey icing.

Must.  I think I read it in the rules…somewhere.

I had to consider what kind of icing these cupcakes deserved.

I thought about  taking marshmallow fluff and mixing it with some peanut butter, but then I wasn’t quite sure of proportions.

Then I considered doing a chocolate icing with some peanut butter in it, but thought that might be over the top.

So I consulted my good friend Google.

Google suggested many things, including my new favorite frosting.

Fluffernutter Frosting~~adapted from Google

  • 1 c. marshmallow fluff
  • ½ c. peanutbutter
  • 1/3 c. butter
  • ¼ tsp. vanilla
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 1 1/3 c. xxx sugar
  • 2 tbsp. milk (or more)~~ I used ½ and ½

Cream first 4 ingredients together.   Add salt and sugar.   Mix well.   Icing will be very stiff.   Add at least 2 tbsp. ½ and ½ or more till you get the consistency you like.

These are outrageously good.

If you want to make them, go check out Clara’s blog.   She has the recipe.


.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

79 thoughts on “October 28”

  1. Oh good lord, you were onto the right thing here. I originally wanted to do a peanut butter frosting, but I just ran out of time. But I wish I had put the PB cup in the middle. AWESOME post…love your pics, as always.

  2. Mmmm… flutternutter frosting! I haven’t made my own yet but after seeing your pictures I must try it soon! Thanks for baking with me this week!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  3. So half butter, half oil solves the problem? Interesting find 🙂 And fluffernutter frosting? I’m so there! *saves recipe* Your cupcakes look great, especially with the chocolate peanut butter combo 🙂

  4. You always manage to make even things I don’t like look good. While I might not be a chocolate fan, I AM A PEANUT BUTTER FAN, and I am going to the kitchen and whip up a batch of this frosting for some other things I am baking today…yep…so going there NOW. Thanks!

  5. If you told me that the Hallelujah Chorus started playing when your first bit into these cupcakes, I would believe you. I wish I thought to use part oil — mine were dry. But it’s the peanut butter cups in the middle and the fluffernutter frosting that I will not be able to get out of my head today. These look absolutely amazing.

  6. All right – pass at least two over, or else! Seriously, chocolate and peanut butter is my favorite combo! How clever and creative (not to mention totally delicious)!

  7. Now I can see your pictures. Don’t know why they wouldn’t show before. You are right about Ganache being wrong for old fashioned comfort food ( I think I saw it in scripture somewhere between “Thou shalt love thy cheese as thyself” and “Thou shalt NOT go to a chinese restaurant and order a hamburger”).

  8. ChocolateChic, you had me at the peanut butter cup filling. But then you frosted them with fluffernutter frosting! I’m completely sold. Great job and beautiful photos.

  9. PB and chocolate. Funny how great bakers thing alike. I will definitely use that frosting recipe in the future. They do look ghoulishy elegant with that great swirl of frosting and the PB cup pieces. Yummy!!

    P.S. Thanks for visiting.

  10. OK, after my doctor appointment next Tuesday I think that I’m going to have to print out the recipe for the cupcakes, add in your substitutions, print out the frosting and make these. No way am I going to make them now as I’ll eat most of them and not be able to lose the excess weight before seeing my doc.

  11. That looks amazing!! I was just looking for a peanut butter frosting recipe.. thanks for sharing! Your piping skills are really good. I tried decorating some cupcakes using the star tip and they didn’t turn out so well.

  12. Good gravy woman! 😆 You are one popular lady. You’re such a sweet lady and I am glad all these people know that. 😀

    You make awesome-looking creations! Hugs!

  13. Well there you go…think you’ve solved the dilemma. I agree…gotta have fluffy icing atop a cupcake and like you I love love love chocolate.
    Beaautiful photos and sounds yuumy
    AmyRuth

  14. Those look WAY better than the original. Yum!

    I loved your grocery tips. We don’t have either of those stores but I am that same crazy person stocking up on baking supplies when they are cheap. My husband laughs, but I’d rather have a full pantry than pay $4 a bag of flour!

  15. Chocolate and peanut butter is one of my favourite flavour combinations. The peanut butter cups look so delicious, and that icing sounds yummy too. Must try it.

Comments are closed.