October 27

October is pastor appreciation month, so yesterday in Sunday School, we had a tea party for our pastor’s wife.

One of the things brought out in the small devotional that was given, was that we really need to be grateful for others around us.

Grateful, thankful and encouraging.

Are you?

Are you thankful for the people in your life?

Do you encourage those around you?

Do you let the special people know just how special they are to you? how happy you are that they are in your life?

How often do you encourage someone?

How often do you let others know you care?

Take time to let them know.

Send a card, send a wee giftie, tell them verbally, give a hug, but do something.

It will bless them, but it will also bless you in return.

Then continue to do it, because those in our lives need to know we care.  Once just isn’t enough.

.

PS.   I made some Orange muffins for the tea.   Several ladies were asking for the recipe.

I got the recipe from here.  I love them because they are a one bowl muffin, and you don’t even need to get out a mixer.

~~Ok, ok, ok…I got out my little hand mixer, because I’m a princess in hiding, and I didn’t want to have to put out the effort of creaming the butter and sugar with a wooden spoon.   I have done it before with the wooden spoon, but…have I mentioned I’m lazy?

Orange Muffins with Brown Sugar Glaze

  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 c. butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c. buttermilk
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 c. flour
  • zest of 2 oranges
  • juice of those 2 oranges
  • 1 c. brown sugar

Cream butter and sugar.  Add eggs and mix well.  Mix in butter milk.   Add flour, soda and orange zest.  Stir till just combined.

Grease your mini muffin tins and fill 2/3 full.   Bake for 12-15 minutes @ 375º.

Stir orange juice and brown sugar together.  Take muffins from oven, and immediately top with glaze.   Remove from pans and cool slightly.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

8 thoughts on “October 27”

  1. I am anxious to try these out.
    I am grateful every day for those that are in my life…and I practice many of the above principles.
    Thanks for sharing with us.

  2. We make those all the time they are our favorite. I am grateful for everyone in my life no more so than ever before. I always let them know. Probaby to the point they are sick of hearing it but,they know. CC have I ever told you how much you mean to me? If not you mean a lot. love ya (((HUGS))

  3. Nope.
    Never.
    I’m mean.

    No hugs.
    No smiles……

    OK, I can’t go on…. 🙂 (((((CC)))))
    I try to let those close to me know that they are loved and cared about by me. I pick on those I care about so that they’ll never feel ignored.

    I love Pastor Appreciation month because my church loves to find new ways to express our appreciation and we hate to repeat ourselves. I do try to let them both know all year how much they mean to my family.

  4. I can’t wait to make those muffins!

    Speaking of appreciation… our church is throwing a Pound Party for our new pastor and his family. We want their pantry filled to overflow when they arrive.

    Isn’t that a thoughtful congregation? We’re also going over to the house ahead of time to clean it and line the shelves.

    How cool is that?

    Blessings,
    Lacy

  5. Having been one of those ladies to get to enjoy these muffins at the tea party, they were wonderful! Course, CC is an excellent cook with a great blog. Thanks for being a wonderful friend. I sure enjoy your company.

  6. I try to let my boys and hubby and everyone else close by ,know at least once a day how much they mean to me. I hope you know what you mean to me and how much I love you!!!!!!

  7. We were blessed by our church for Pastor’s Appreciation. They sent us to the Cove (Billy Graham Training Center) for a retreat. It was a truly wonderful gift!

Comments are closed.