October 23

I cheated.

I cheated, and I’m not sorry so sorry.

I just didn’t have the gumption to make this weeks BB (Barefoot Bloggers) recipe.

I don’t know if it was because the recipe was really involved, or if the ingredients didn’t quite appeal to me, I don’t know.

But I cheated.

I asked Chefboy to make the filling for me.

And he did.

I did put it in the bowls.

Yeah…me!

I also had a baggie of my favorite pie dough in the freezer.

So cheated and used that too.

To ease my guilt make up for the fact that I really didn’t do anything but photograph this recipe, roll out the dough, put the tops on and bake it, I tried to pretty up the tops.

I’ll do better next time.

I promise.

Here is the recipe that Deb of Kahakai Kitchen picked for us.

Vegetable Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients

  • 12 tablespoons unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks)
  • 2 cups sliced yellow onions (2 onions)
  • 1 fennel bulb, top and core removed, thinly sliced crosswise~~Pothole doesn’t know what fennel bulbs are, so Chefboy I ground up fennel seed.
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 cups good chicken stock
  • 1 tablespoon Pernod~~had to do a Google search on this one.   It is a licorice flavored liqueur.  Gag-a-maggot!
  • Pinch saffron threads~~bwahahahahaha
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 cups large-diced potatoes (1/2 pound)
  • 1 1/2 cups asparagus tips~~nope…used peas
  • 1 1/2 cups peeled, 3/4-inch-diced carrots (4 carrots)
  • 1 1/2 cups peeled, 3/4-inch-diced butternut squash~~nope…used corn
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen small whole onions (1/2 pound)~~nope…used chicken
  • 1/2 cup minced flat-leaf parsley~~nope…used thyme instead

For the pastry:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup vegetable shortening
  • 1/4 pound cold unsalted butter, diced
  • 1/2 to 2/3 cup ice water
  • 1 egg beaten with 1 tablespoon water, for egg wash
  • Flaked sea salt and cracked black pepper

Directions

Melt the butter in a large pot over medium heat. Add the onions and fennel and saute until translucent, 10 to 15 minutes. Add the flour, reduce the heat to low, and cook for 3 more minutes, stirring occasionally. Slowly add the stock, Pernod, saffron, salt, and pepper, and bring to a boil. Simmer for 5 more minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the heavy cream and season to taste. The sauce should be highly seasoned.

Cook the potatoes in boiling salted water for 10 minutes. Lift out with a sieve. Add the asparagus, carrots, and squash to the pot and cook in the boiling water for 5 minutes. Drain well. Add the potatoes, mixed vegetables, onions, and parsley to the sauce and mix well.

For the pastry, mix the flour, salt, and baking powder in the bowl of a food processor fitted with a metal blade. Add the shortening and butter and mix quickly with your fingers until each piece is coated with flour. Pulse 10 times, or until the fat is the size of peas. With the motor running, add the ice water; process only enough to moisten the dough and have it just come together. Dump the dough out onto a floured board and knead quickly into a ball. Wrap the dough in plastic and allow it to rest in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Divide the filling equally among 4 ovenproof bowls(ok, this filling makes tons.   I don’t know what size her oven proof bowls were, but mine were a good sized cereal bowl, and I needed 7 or 8 of them). Divide the dough into quarters and roll each piece into an 8-inch circle. Brush the outside edges of each bowl with the egg wash, then place the dough on top. Trim the circle to 1/2-inch larger than the top of the bowl. Crimp the dough to fold over the sides, pressing it to make it stick. Brush the dough with egg wash and make 3 slits in the top. Sprinkle with sea salt and cracked pepper. Place on a baking sheet and bake for 1 hour, or until the top is golden brown and the filling is bubbling hot.

This was a wonderful tasting Vegetable Chicken Pot Pie.   I loved it.   Chefboy did a wonderful job on it.

I won’t cheat again.

I promise.

Forgive me.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

36 thoughts on “October 23”

  1. You’re OK because Pernod does NOT belong in a vegetable…uh, er… chicken pot pie. I especially love the maple leaf cutout. I recently bought some Wilton leaf cookie cutters that were only $2.50!! I’m itching to use them. Gosh, I haven’t made chicken pot pie in the longest time and I’ve been stuck in the “what’s for dinner” conundrum so thanks for the idea.

    I’m green with envy that you won the Nancy Drew mystery. I know, I know, I can always go to Amazon and get one but it’s so much more exciting to win one.

    Have a great day in Pothole.

    – Suzanne, the Farmer’s Wife

  2. That looks great. I use my own recipe and my kids hate itm, but Sir Husband and I don’t. We call our Chicken Pot Pie, Mrs. Tweedie’s Pie from Chicken Run. The kids refuse to eat it and will go hungry for days, because I’ll have lots of leftovers. LOL I also use the fun cut out shapes. 🙂

  3. Girl – I cheated a bit too, but I’m not telling anyone but you! I used puff pastry for the piecrust. It was good, but I won’t do that again. I just won’t!!!! But it was such a delicious pie and I am sure yours was too.

  4. LOL – let me tell you what, my hubs sure wished that I cheated a little bit and added some chicken! Licorice flavor liqueur? Yeah, um, I can think of a few other ways I’d rather spend my $50 bucks. Yours sure look pretty!!

  5. I LOVE pot pies – my “secret food” when nobody is around is a good ol’ Banquet CPP from the freezer. So full of salt and preservatives and sooo not on my “healthy eating plan” but I totally don’t care.

    I’m gonna have to try to make my own. I wonder if my cereal bowls are oven proof? How do I find out? They’re just some white porcelain things I got at Linens-n-Things a few years ago.

  6. I love your shortcuts! This was pretty time and pot intensive and I don’t think I’d go all out on this recipe when I make it again. I’ll keep your ideas in mind when I do – thanks!

  7. You know I felt the same way about this choice. Something about it just doesn’t appeal to me and I’m not excited to make it. Which is probably why I’m late. I may also cheat because the whole homemade pastry thing sounds too daunting for a weeknight supper.

  8. I grew up eating frozen chicken pot pies – best thing about them was the chicken – and haven’t eaten one in years. Now if you skipped the peas I would love to try yours – peas & I …. lets just say we don’t get along and leave it at that.

    I’m proud of you. You owned up to what you had done and didn’t try to say it was all your work. He did good and it was good practice for him.

    Is the Nikon home yet?

  9. I’m laughing over here in Jersey. I LOVE this post. Move over…I’m heading out to Pothole…chicken pot pie is my absolute favorite.

  10. Hi Tanya! 😀 I have wanted to make a pot pie for like a gazillion years. The thing is, we’ve no shortning. Is there such thing as a yummy pie crust without the use of shortning?

    Cuz boy does that look yummmmy! :mrgreen:

  11. You are an amazing cook and a wonderful photographer.
    Tell Nikon you want your money back and use the money to fly to Paris, girl!!!

    You rock the point and shoot and you inspire me with your delicious recipes!

  12. Beautiful pot pies! I love the cut out with the filling peeking through. You did not miss much with the liquid licorice Pernod. It was mellow in the dish, but definitely an acquired taste!

Comments are closed.