October 15

When you were a teen, did you ever spend hours and hours on the phone with your friends?

Flopped down on your bed?

Hanging off the bed?

On the floor with your feet on the bed?

Yelling at your little sister to “get out of the room” so you can talk to your friend in “private”!

Yep…

When I was 14, we had been in Houston for about 3-4 months.   I met this wonderful girl named Karen Hammock. (Hi Karen~~I just know you read my blog!)

She only lived about 2 blocks from me, and I would go over to her house quite a bit.

We spent about as much time on the phone as we did at each others house.

That’s why when the girl got a phone call from a friend the other day and she took the phone into the kitchen, I giggled to myself because I knew she wanted privacy.

Later, when I went to go into the kitchen, I figured I’d see her sitting at the island chatting away.

I wasn’t prepared for this.

Last I heard, Karen is married, has a little girl and is living in Fresno, California.   I hope she remembers me with the same fondness that I remember her.

She taught me so much about how to be a friend.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

17 thoughts on “October 15”

  1. Yes! The hours spent on a phone without call waiting.

    I usually am found scribbling while on the phone. Kids like to read my scribblings. See what I have said about them.

  2. Love that photo…love that you remember your friend so fondly…hope that she does, indeed, read your blog…

    (Nope, I wasn’t allowed to talk on the phone more than a minute or two. Maybe that’s why I still hate talking on the phone.)

  3. Yes, I did have a “Karen” and her name was Barbara. We didn’t chat on the phone much because there was only one phone in our home and if I remember correctly it was in the living room where my brother and sisters watched TV.

    Thanks for jogging those memories.

    – Suzanne

  4. I used to spend hours on the phone with my best friend. Those were the best times. Then we got internet back when it was only dial-up and my dad used to tell me to get off the phone all the time. Eventually, we got two lines.

    These days? I avoid the phone like the plague. Weird.

  5. I was usually sitting on the floor near the phone because the cord wasn’t very long but yeah I remember chatting w/Ronda during high school – we haven’t talked in years, last I know she was married, raising 3 kids in Utah.

    My kids like to chat in their rooms, with the door shut which I frown on.

    As for me I am known to chat with friends just about anywhere doing just about anything. But my favorite place is my bed.

  6. Another one here who wasn’t allowed to talk on the phone much. My mom just couldn’t stand it if I was in the living room for some reason. Probably the reason I am not really much of a phone person. Unless I’m close to the person. And it’s later in the day. On the 3rd Thursday of the month.

    😆

    Love love the pictures, though!!! 😀

Comments are closed.