October 14

I have always joked with my mother that I was born a Princess, but was switched at birth.

I have always liked very simple, but very expensive things.

Even as kid I always gravitated toward expensive items.

I take the girl to a local jewelry store quite often, as she has a love of jewelry like I do, and we generally always end up at the diamond case at some point in the shopping experience.

There is one there that just blows me away every time I see it.

The first time I saw it, I just knew it was the best diamond in the store.

Then I saw the price.

Yep.  Princess.

I have always thought that Biscotti as more of a ‘princess’ type food, but I have never had it.   I dont’ know why.   Princess’s eat Biscotti every day.

Don’t they?

Today’s TWD is Lenox Almond Biscotti Orange Pecan Biscotti.  Gretchen from Canela & Comino picked it for us, and I was glad because it is high time that I got myself in gear and finally tried this.

I love almonds, but can not stand almond extract, amaretto, or anything else that tastes like fake cherry’s, so I changed a few things in this recipe.

I substituted pecans for the almonds, and in place of almond extract I put vanilla and orange extract.   I also added some orange zest to add some oomph.

I have no clue what I was afriaid of, because Biscotti is fabulous, and this Princes will be eating a lot more of it!

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

65 thoughts on “October 14”

  1. I bet the orange zest tasted amazing! I wanted to do that but forgot! Ooops! There’s always next time. Glad Princess enjoyed them 🙂
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  2. I love the story about being a princess. My mom always teases me that my whole life I’ve had the ability to immediately find the best, most expensive item in the store without trying! Your biscotti looks perfect and the flavor combo sounds even better than the original. Great job!

  3. Wow Chocolatechic

    They Look Amazing! So glad you had the same revelation! I love them too. I am looking forward to trying new variations now that I know I like them so . I’ll put the citrus and pecan variation in my list of combinations to try. Thanks for stopping by for a visit.
    AmyRuth

    Great Photos

  4. Those flavors sound wonderful. I always thought I was born to be a princess too, but something happened along the way. I think I’ll try the citrus in my next batch! Beautiful biscotti!

  5. I love biscotti! My favorite is a chocolate biscotti with a steaming cup of coffee. It is such a nice snack on a cool day. I especially like to coat one side in some white chocolate and then drizzle some more chocolate over the top. Yummy!

    I will have to try yours with the orange and pecans. It sounds like it would be heavenly with a cup of hot tea.

  6. Those look delicious. And I think we may have been twins separated at birth. I used to sell fine jewelery many moons ago, and rarely bought anything because my taste eclipsed my paycheck by a LOT.

  7. Dear Princess Chocolatechic-
    I couldn’t agree with you more regarding almond extract. I skipped it and subbed vanilla, which in my book is always right. Your pictures are lovely, too, Your Highness!!
    Love the one where they are on the baking sheet. Makes me wish I kept a couple for myself.

  8. Dear Princess Chocolatechic-
    I couldn’t agree with you more regarding almond extract. I subbed vanilla, which in my book is always good. The pictures are wonderful. I especially like the one where the biscotti are on the baking sheet in opposite directions. Nicely done, Your Highness.

  9. I love biscotti and was so happy when my mother showed me how to make it. I’ve not made any in a while though I’m sure hubby would love me even more if I did so. 😉

    I don’t have a problem w/almonds or almond extract or cherries but I do admit that I like your combo. To make them even better next time you need to have some melted chocolate to dip the top or sides in. Then you can dip them in your cocoa on a cold winter day while wrapped in your warm cream & pink stole. You’ll be warm before you know it. 😀

    I will have to try your version here soon. Did you do exact substitutions?

  10. I love biscotti too. I have a great recipe for a hazelnut one that is delish. It’s requested every year at Christmas in my hubby’s office. I may have to try this one!

  11. they look wonderful! definitely fit for a princess 🙂 the orange sounds marvelous.
    btw, sorry you couldn’t see the photos on my blog, i’m not sure why! i can see them. maybe if you try refreshing or clicking on one of the pics to go to the album.

  12. Your pictures, as always, are amazing. The last shot of the biscotti in the scalloped glass makes them look royal indeed, almost crown-like.

    I’m no princess but always have gravitated toward expensive things. I’ve no idea where that came from because my parents were not like that at al!

  13. You and your son should open up a little eatery. With your unique name, Chocolatechic, and your FAB cooking abliities, it would be sure to be a success!

    :mrgreen:

    Hugs, Robin

  14. You will always be my little princess. You do such amazing things with food! Someday when I retire I too will try stuff. Looks so good.

  15. I can’t stand almond extract or cherry flavoring either, though I love almonds and adore cherries. I think I had too many cherry flavored medicines when I was a kid. Great biscotti…I want to try your orange/pecan combo.

  16. I am thinking the Princess needs to be promoted to Queen with these biscotti…very very nice. The best I have seen as a matter of fact. Lovely photos, lovely post, and very lovely biscotti. Wow, the biscotti kingdom is definitely yours this week.

  17. I’m going to have to be more careful how I look at your blog. I just gained 10 pounds looking at your biscotti. Now that you’re a princess, does that mean your Mom and Dad are King and Queen? Also, Why is it that girls (all girls!) have to have their feet above their heads to talk on the phone? Is it so they can shake enough stuff down to their brains to talk about for two hours? Or, is it that the subject matter is so deep that they have to keep a large supply of blood available to the brain to process it? Yeah….I think that must be it.

  18. I for one loooove everything that tastes like amaretto, so I’m OK with almond extract. But I really like the flavor combo you used here, sounds delicious!

  19. Orange and pecan sounds amazingly good. Although I must admit that I love almond, almond extract, cherries of all kinds, and even fake cherry flavor. Cherry jelly candies are my favorites! Your biscotti look fantastic – great texture and color. T\
    Nancy

Comments are closed.