October 2

Hard economic times have hit us all, but never so much as the small business.

Photobucket

This post is in memory of one such business, The Serenity Tea House, who quietly closed it’s doors yesterday.

Jeannie hired the boy about a year and a half ago.

It was his first job, and he was so happy to have it.

Family came from far away to enjoy her sandwiches.

And I, personally, have eaten gallons and gallons of house soup.

My heart goes out to Jeannie and to all those who have been forced to close their businesses.

Thank you Jeannie for giving this small community a quiet place to sit and enjoy a peaceful lunch.  I will truly miss it.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

17 thoughts on “October 2”

  1. It makes me want to cry. I’m so sorry to see it close. I always enjoyed the time we were there.

    The last time we were there was special!

    Sorry about Grandson losing that job.

  2. Places like the tea house will be missed. Larger chain restaurants will suffer but they have a bit more room to weather the economic storm. You will see some of them closing also.

    – Suzanne, the Farmer’s Wife

  3. That is sad. This is becoming the norm, I’m afraid.

    2 questions for you my dear…
    One- How does D like school?
    Two- Do you have a good way to make beef and noodles that you could e mail me?

    Thanks.
    Pip

  4. How sad. I hope she will be able to come back some day. I am afraid we will see more of that before the economy comes back again.Great pictures. Thanks

  5. That is very sad. I’m sorry that she had to close. That isn’t good for her, the community or the economy but it is understandable.

    My heart is breaking for all of you.

    This is just a sign of why it is so important to help support the local small business any way we can.

Comments are closed.