September 30

Kim guessed it first.   In the picture yesterday, I am in the second row, all the way on the left…red dress.   Applie, that should make you so happy.

I took 3 years of French, during high school.

I loved the way the language sounded, rolling off the tongue.

It is a  beautiful language, and I wanted to sound just as cool, just as sophisticated, and just as gorgeous as the French.

When I lived in Oklahoma, my best friend and I were in the same French class together.

I spoke better French, but she understood it better.  I was all about sounding cool, and not about learning the language.

All those conjugation of verbs and making sure each verb was in the right form. It made my head ache.

We would go to the mall on the weekends, and we would walk into a shop, both of us speaking French to each other, pretending not to know English.

We would make sure that one of the employees heard us.   They would, without fail, come over and try to help us.

We would take turns “translating” for the other, pretending to speak English with a thick French accent.   It was great fun, and it also made the store’s employees extremely attentive.  It was even greater fun to have one thing said, and translate something totally different.

Today’s TWD is Crème Brûlée.  Crème Brûlée is French for ‘burnt cream’.

I have never had crème brûlée before, and I couldn’t wait to make it.  Not only because it was French, but becasue I got to play with fire and not get in trouble for it.

Crème brûlée has all the ingredients of vanilla ice cream, so if you like vanilla ice cream, you’ll love this.

You can infuse the cream with all sorts of flavors…espresso, lavendar, cinnamon, chocolate, anything that you would like.

Since I had never had it before, I made it plain.   It is wonderful plain.

If you’d like to see the recipe,  Mari from Mevrouw Cupcake has the recipe on her blog.

Laissez les bon temps rouler.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

55 thoughts on “September 30”

  1. I always thought it was so funny you girls did that! Do you remember going grocery shopping and doing commercials? You always made me laugh.

    I’ve never tried Crème Brûlée before and have often wodered what it tasted like. I may have to give in a try…

  2. ha! i took 4 years of french in high school, in far north texas. my sister and i did exactly the same thing at the mall. that’s too funny. your pictures are great!

  3. Yes, I am happy you were wearing the right color, but sad that my guess wasn’t right. I thought for sure I was. LOL

    I have never had Crème brûlée. You’ll need to come down here and make some for me. I’m not allowed to play with fire, every time I do, the husband takes over.

  4. Okay, I love “this stuff” (no way am I looking up the codes for all that, Miss Smarty Pants ;>). And I even looked at Mari’s blog and recipe, but I won’t be making it. Too labor intensive, too fussy for me. But how I love to see your beautiful pictures. Now I just have to go out to eat someday and order this for dessert.

  5. This is awesome a great post – I agree, everything French is just so much cooler. They have the baguette, we have the loaf. They have the coq au vin, we have a pot pie. It just isn’t fair.

  6. Wonderful photos! My husband had never had Creme Brulee before and said it tasted just like melted vanilla ice cream! Playing with fire was my favorite part too. 😉

  7. I took french in high school too! I love how french rolls off the tongue. It aint the language of love for nothing. Belles peintures! Mind if I ask what camera you use?
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  8. Love your photos! I bought my dishes at Linens & Things, a set of 4.

    I started learning French in third grade (an enlightened teacher)and it is my strongest language. One time, in high school, during a class break, a group of us began talking fractured French, pronouncing the words as if we didn’t know how they were really pronounced. Little did we know that the teacher was listening in. When class resumed, she commented on all of our “wonderful” accents!

  9. You have posted my favorite dessert… well, favorite dessert that is not pie. Oh yum. Oh heavens! Why did you do this to my waist line? I just gained five pounds looking at this post!

    Blessings!
    Lacy

    P.S. I posted my story start as promised. Please tell me what you think!

  10. Wonderful pictures.
    I went to stay on a farm in Nice, France for a summer when I was young. I was surprised how different real French was from the Quebecios we learned in Canadian schools. The language is just beautiful.
    Your ramekins look just fine to me, although the shallow ones allow for more candy on top.
    Let the good times roll, my friend.

  11. As always your pictures are little works of art capturing all of the subtle shadows and light. I’d love for you to go to Paris with your camera and capture all of the sights and foods to share on your blog!

  12. I am doing well to speak English. The closest I ever came to French was having a friend who went to college to be a French teacher and ended up teaching Spanish.Great pictures. I saw Paula deen make that before. Looks yummy.

  13. I’ve never had creme brule (I probably butchered that but I’m lazy and didn’t feel like copying from earlier writings of the word) but you make it look and sound good.

    I do have a propane torch of hubby’s that I could use to burn the tops but I’m sure that hubby would want to begin helping at that point – also the tasting to make sure it was fit for others to consume. 🙄

  14. Tres jolie! I never could get my tongue around all those pretty words. Now German. That’s a easy language to learn!!!!! Je adore your brulee. It looks perfect.

  15. This is my absolutely favorite dessert! How can you do this to me? Where can I find myself one now? Short of making it, which I am not.going.to.do.

    Not now anyway,I’m too busy getting our school newsletter printable.

    I will just sit here and stare at your gorgeous pictures and slobber all over my keyboard. Sigh…

  16. It was my first time making this too so I made it plain as well. It was delicious but I can’t wait to experiment. Any excuse to use my torch again is a good one! 🙂

Comments are closed.