September 24

Whenever I thought of having children, I always wanted a girl.

I couldn’t wait to have someone to dress up in pink.

.

.

Or to sit and do her hair.

Today is my girls 16th birthday, and I thought that you might like to see the many faces of my girl.

You would?   Great.

.

.

.

.

This is one of my most favorite pictures of her.   It captures her personality so well.

.

.

.

.

4 months old at Christmas, 1992.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Happy Birthday, my dearest girl.   You are all I ever dreamed of and more.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

35 thoughts on “September 24”

  1. Your daughter is beautiful. Not only that, but she appears to have a sweet spirit, which is even better than being beautiful! And I love it that she said her brother is her best friend. (That means you’ve done something very right, Mom.)

    I have a daughter and two sons, and while I love my sons, there’s a whole wonderful world I would have missed if I hadn’t had that precious little girl as well. Daughters are so special.

  2. Happy Birthday Sweetness! Enjoy your day.
    I like the black and white photo the best.

    And congrats to D for starting his culinary adventure. I can’t wait to be watching him on Food Network.

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY “Girl Chip”! Welcome to pre-adulthood. Welcome to the world of having your father give every boy that enters the house the “Evil Eye”. Welcome to the world where if you’re 2 minutes late driving home from school, the highway patrol is looking for you. Welcome to the world where you discover that Mom and Dad aren’t as smart as you thought they were. Welcome to the world where car insurance costs the same as a heart transplant. Welcome to the world where a used beater costs pennies to buy, but, a small fortune to keep running. Welcome to the world where you get up at 5:00 am to go to the job that will PAY for that beater and car insurance. Welcome to the world where you have to pay TAXES on that money you earned. Welcome to the world where Mom and Dad mysteriously seem more strained than usual and their hair begins to gray. They may even become “grouchy” over something as innocent as riding in the car with a strange boy (Parents! Go figure!). But, I know you can handle it. You’ll see. Some time when you’re around 21, you’ll discover that Mom and Dad seem to be smarter than before. And you can be happy in the knowledge that you taught them everything they know. Seriously, though, knowing the family you came from, I KNOW you’re going to do fine with the rest of your life. Happy Birthday!

  4. Crying…looking at pics…I can’t believe sixteen years have past since that beautiful day she was born and you gave me my first granddaughter! What a BIG blessing she has been to me and our whole family. I love her more than I could even say.

    Happy Birthday Sweets! I love you Grammy

  5. Happy Birthday!!
    My have you grown up to be a very sweet young lady. I cannot begin to tell you how proud your mama is of you. Trust me, be careful of the boys, if they don’t treat their mama or yours very well then you don’t really want to have anything to do with them. When in doubt about the measure of a boy ask your brother…he’s most likely better able to know the truth about him.

    Take advantage of your parents and brother when it comes to boys. They’ve got your back.

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY to your daughter!!! I loved seeing all the pictures from when she was little, but was surprised at how many I recognized. I’ve been reading your blog longer than I thought! : )
    I hope y’all have a WONDERFUL day celebrating together!

    HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!
    Cara

  7. Happy Birthday, my birthday buddy! 🙂 Except I’m not 16, and haven’t been 16 for Waaay over 16 years.

    But my daughter’s 16! Does that count?

    Beautiful pictures of a beautiful girl!

  8. Happy Birthday to a really sweet and lovable young lady!!! You are such a beautiful girl. May you always be a shining light in this dark world!!! Sixteen candles hmm hmm hmm

  9. Happy Happy Happy Birthday precious. Thanks for putting the picture with great-grandma in there. It made me cry. Grams loved her soooooooooo much. We all do. I love cousin Jerry’s post.

  10. what a wonderful tribute to your daughter! I always wanted four girls, but had two boys instead. In the long run, I think boys might have been easier.
    Thanks for sharing those wonderful photos.

Comments are closed.