September 2

I love cookies.

Chocolate chip.

Butterscotch chip.

Peanut butter~~made with crunchy peanut butter and peanut butter chips.

Snickerdoodles.

Oatmeal Scotchies.

Russian Tea Cakes/Mexican Wedding Cookies.

There really isn’t a cookie that I don’t like, unless it has anise or raisins in them.

That’s why I was so excited when Stefany from Proceed with Caution picked this cookie for today’s TWD. (you can find the recipe on Stefany’s blog)

Chunky Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters.

3 great cookies all combined into one.

The dough was fabulous.

I licked, and pinched off bits, and tasted the dough the entire time I was baking these cookies and I just couldn’t wait to try them…baked.

I tweaked the recipe just a smackeral.

I added more salt, more vanilla, and I added about a half cup of peanuts, because, well…I did.

So there!

The cookies are ok.

Not outstandingly fabulous like I had hoped they would be, not like the dough was.

This recipe reminded me of the Black and White Banana Loaf that we made about a month ago. Just to many different flavors competing with each other, and muddied up the entire thing.

If I make these again, I will add peanut butter chips, or butterscotch chips, or leave out the cinnamon and nutmeg.

Or I could just make them as is, and eat the dough.

I’ve done that before…

Lots of times…

Like you haven’t???

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

46 thoughts on “September 2”

  1. I notice that you like a lot of different kinds of chips in your cookies. (I hope your not planning on eating the Chips anytime soon!)

  2. I agree with you that the dough was way better than the finished product on these cookies. I liked them, but not enough to make again.

    I’ll be interested to see what you think of next week’s cookie (speaking of a lot of flavors going on).

  3. there really were a lot of flavors competing, in this one. i kept thinking of them as garbage cookies – just throw in everything except the kitchen sink. i liked them, but they just had a little too much going on.

  4. You’re right about one thing–the dough was better! Although I was quite happy with the end result. I couldn’t quite pick out the oatmeal or PB in the final product, but I certainly could taste the butter and the deliciousness. Gorgeous pics as always, btw.

  5. well.. i did think the flavors worked a little better than the black and white loaf though. I added more peanuts as well. was good good. at least i liked it!

    and i agree with you.. the batter was sooo good. i was trying all ways to steal a little piece here and there just to nibble on. hehe.

  6. Amen! I absolutely, 100% agree with your review of the finished cookie. I was shocked that I did not love these, as I love everything. Your pictures make them look amazing, though!

  7. Ooh, I haven’t had oatmeal scotchies in forever. Butterscotch chips are generally too sweet for my taste, but I love them in oatmeal scotchies. I’m sorry to hear that these weren’t as good as you hoped they’d be. Better luck next week? =)

  8. Loved your pictures as always. I’m with you, they were good cookies, but like the black and white loaf, not great cookies. I, however, must be missing something because I never taste the batter. 🙂

  9. I am actually not a dough eater, I know I am in the minority. I think it is a texture thing.
    Your cookies look great – your photos are amazing! I want to plaster them all over my kitchen.

  10. Cookies, now that is something that I’m always willing to try. I completely admit to eating cookie dough raw eggs and all. 🙂 I even allow the kids to eat it, it didn’t kill me and since they aren’t allergic to eggs…

    Sorry you didn’t find the cookies to be as good as you expected but maybe you can adapt the recipe next time to something that works better for you. I’ve found that not all flavors enhance one another. I do love to put PB chip with chocolate chips, always a good combo. Adding a bit of butterscotch to the mix…..can we say Heaven!!! Of course one of the reasons I’ll add the PB is that one of my girl’s friends hates PB!! (can you believe an American kid not liking PB 😕 but then my girl doesn’t like PB&J 😕 Go figure)

    I’ll have to go get that recipe and give these a try soon.

  11. Your photos look great! I left out the spices and liked the chocolate chip version (though I think butterscotch would be good too!) I’ll also admit to being very guilty of snitching the dough for pretty much every cookie…

  12. I used to love cookie dough.
    When I was in college, I would go to the college store and buy Otis Spunkmeyer cookies – unbaked – for breakfast.

  13. Well, in my house, when one of my daughters (or me for that matter) has an emotional crisis….we’ve been known to drive to the nearest convenience store, buy cookie dough and EAT IT! Just like that…no baking nor even any intention of baking! And, in a pinch…we just might buy—GASP–canned frosting!!!!

  14. ha! you know i never grew up eating the dough and to this day i don’t understand it 😛 your cookies look great, even if they didn’t wow you in the taste department

  15. I totally agree with you about the dough, it was amazing! But the actual cookies left you a little like, hmm, that was it? Your looks lovely though, and I also think that pb or butterscotch chips would be a welcome addition. Beautiful photos 🙂

  16. You’re absolutely right… they are just like the B&W banana loaf… it’s that dang cinnamon in there where it’s got no right to be. Cinnamon and chocolate don’t go together (there, I said it, and now I feel better! LOL) at least for my tastebuds anyway.

    Your photos are fantastic, though. Nice job!

  17. Hi! Just clicked over from Quiet Life for the first time as I try to “meet the neighbors.” Here’s my favorite version of the chocolate chip cookie. Start with the Tollhouse recipe, and add 1 cup oatmeal and 1 cup Rice Krispies. The Rice Krispies add a nice lightness.

Comments are closed.