August 30

One of the blogs I read daily, Quiet Life, challenged us readers to take pictures of ourselves with our children.

She said “I wish, wish, wish I had more pictures of myself with our children. It is one of my few regrets.


So here’s the deal…

In five years you will look five years older….you WILL look young in the pictures you take today!
Ten years ago I thought I was fat. Oh my goodness….I should have taken pictures THEN.
So do it for me.
Do it for yourself and for your children.”

I gave excuse. I am the one taking pictures. Who is going to take them? yadda…yadda….I don’t wanna….

So a day or so later, she came back with a picture of herself and her children saying “Your children look at you all day long. THEY know what you look like. They are not surprised by how you look in the picture. I still want to look like I did when I was 25 years old. And really I’m shocked that I don’t.
You know, if you stay away from mirrors and cameras you can kind of fool yourself. But, seriously, I’m not fooling anyone. My children love me just the way I am. Chins and all.”

And I can not help but agree. I don’t want pictures of me now. blech…

But the chips did.

I told them all about her blog post, and asked them what they thought. They were both extremely enthusiastic about the whole idea.

sigh…

I figured out how to use my timer, set up my tripod and took a quick picture to see if it would work.

It did….sigh.

But it was blurry, I had never been so excited about a blurry picture.

I deleted it.

I just love that delete button.

Then last week, while we were out picnicking, I had Superman take our picture.

It, too, is blurry, but I didn’t delete this one.

My son wants an 8×10 of this for his room. He wants to hang it on the wall.

I see flaws, but he sees love.

So, I will continue to take pictures of myself and the chips.

I will also issue the challenge to you.

Take pictures of yourself with your children.

Tomorrow isn’t promised.

Record today.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

29 thoughts on “August 30”

  1. Yay! You smiled with such joy! And that is you.I think of you as funny and joyful and loving. And this picture shows that.

    Your son is smiling so naturally and look at your daughter’s body language, She is snuggling in!

    Really sweet!

    Remember, it is only startling to you. They look at you and love you every moment of every day!!!

    That is saying something important.

    Love,
    Donna

  2. I also usually take the photos, so there aren’t very many of me on vacation or with the family, but my daughter takes pics of me and I see something totally different and she state they are her favorite photos. We will be taking more of the whole family along with friends and extended family to capture the love we share.

  3. Your son is right!!!! I see love too.

    Didn’t you know the rule that photographers hate having their photo taken and interviewers hate being interviewed. It’s a well know fact.

    You done good. You done real good. Hey – my daughter is home this weekend and maybe we’ll try the same thing.

    You’re my inspiration!

    – Suzanne, the Farmer’s Wife

  4. ‘Morning. I totally agree with you…I want to be thinner/younger/cuter, etc. But, when our kids look at us, they see one of the people they love and trust and admire and need the most in this world! We are their favorite blanket against the world!

    Just yesterday, my 16 year old daughter, (youngest of 4), told me that she was watching me in the store and thought to herself that I was so beautiful, which floored me! It choked me up! Do you think I thought that? Never in a million years.

    So–we are totally beautiful to someone, all of us!

  5. Great post! So true. I’m another mom who was a nice sized young woman and now is very heavy, and I hate seeing pictures of myself. I loved your line “I see flaws but he sees love.” How wonderful! When I think of the people I truly love, I realize that I don’t care one bit that others might not consider them good looking. To me, they are the most beautiful people in the world! Thanks for reminding us.

  6. Your post today brought tears to my eyes. So sweet! The love that your children have for you and you for your children is evident in every post, but especially today. God bless you and your family!

  7. Thanks for a sorely needed challange. I will get Mr. Boy Scout to take some pictures of us, because I want to see myself in my children’s lives. Thanks for being such a good role model and an inspiration.

  8. What a wonderful idea! We haven’t taken a family picture for YEARS, so that’s something that we’ll do in the next week or two.

    And for the record, I love your family shots!

  9. I really hate to say this but you are right…oh that hurt but I guess that I need to think more about my kids and their children. If something happens to me how will my kids show their what grandma looked like? How will they know who takes after who in looks and such?

    OK, I’ll stop hating it when people point their cameras at me and be more willing to have my picture taken. Perhaps this week, after hubby comes home, I’ll see about getting some family shots taken. I’ll also try not to be so critical of them.

  10. May I link to your blog post? I “borrow” often for mine… (and referenced Miz Booshay once not too long ago… about taking pictures of yourself with the kidlets).

    You wrote it all beautifully … would love to share it with my family/readers.

  11. Your photos are really great–of course why wouldn’t they be. We need to see more smiling pics in each of our lives every day. Grab the camera and shoot some of you all being silly (not that you are never silly). You will cherish those as well. Thank you so very much for brightening up my day! See you tomorrow!!! 🙂

  12. What a great picture. I am all for that. I see only love also.Isn’t it funny how we can see all the flaws in us and everyone is is good? I enjoyed your folks being here today.

  13. This post has inspired me to take more photos with my children. Thank you. I’m usually the one behind the camera and I delete too many because I don’t think I look ‘good.’

    What a beautiful family you have, I just love seeing parents with their children and picking out who has who’s nose and smile and such. Your children and such a beautiful representation of you and your husband 🙂

  14. I love this post! I love your photo!

    Today I am going to get some photos of me and my kids. My oldest son leaves for college later…good day for a photo.

  15. Wow, I just found your blog today and I am so glad I did. I read this post and it really touched me. My Mama died when I was 13. My sisters and I went through all of our pictures after she passed and we could only find one blurry picture of her. It was all we had left. She hated to have her picture taken so she refused. Had she allowed it then we would have wonderful photos to show her 3 grandsons and her grandaughter that was named after her. I also hate to have my picture taken but have allowed it on rare occasion so that my kids have them. But I am thinking we need to do it alot more often.

    I love the picture of you and your children. You are beautiful and so is your family!

Comments are closed.