August 23

A doe a deer, a female deer….

.

.

.

.

That is one of Superman’s favorite songs.

I think deer are his favorite animal.

I also think that they sense this, and they love him too.

They love him so much that they chase after him.

They chase after him, and heave themselves at his car.

Deer are just drawn to him.

Not only do they heave themselves at his car, they also leave a bit of themselves behind.

Just so Superman will remember them, and so Chocolatechic can rummage around junk yards looking for replacement parts.

This makes number 5 in the last 10 years.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

25 thoughts on “August 23”

  1. Ouch, and gross, and I’m SO GLAD it wasn’t any worse than that. The deer around here go for crunching the entire front end and sometimes the windshield. So I’m really grateful that Superman is fine and there is minimal damage to his car.

    I am NOT grateful for you getting that song stuck in my head. ; )

  2. Ouch! I’m glad that Superman is okay. I guess he’s becoming a seasoned expert on how to react when attacked by deer.

    I’m going to go hum my other favorite song from that musical…Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
    Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
    Brown paper packages tied up with strings
    These are a few of my favorite things…

  3. I’m glad the damage isn’t too extensive and that your Superman is OK. Accordingly to his average, you’re good to go for another 2 years. (that’s a lot of deer!)

  4. I, too, am glad he’s okay. You just never know when they will come at you.

    I have heard of some really serious injuries because of deer and am fearful of someday meeting up with one myself.

    You always did get me with the tunes didn’t you? All right stop laughing:)

  5. Be grateful it wasn’t a larger animal. When cars up here are struck by moose the results are much worse. Also up here if you hit a moose you are usually ticketed and the troopers call a charity to come deal with the animal (my church is on that list and we use the meat for our Wednesday dinners as well as distribute the ground meat through our food bank.

    Glad Superman wasn’t hurt and the car came out alright as well.

  6. For me it is 1 in 45 years of driving and that was only a bump but we left a lot of rubber on the road.Thank goodness for full coverage insurance if you have it…they find the parts and they fix it….only in america….I love this country!!!!

  7. I’m glad your dear wasn’t hurt!

    Dare I ask?…uh…did Bambie make it?

    The song Julie Beth posted is my most favoratest song from The Sound of Music…which I have an urge to watch now!LOL! 😀

  8. Vee~~your a hoot!

    Ma~~how did you know I’d be laughing??? giggle

    Dad~~only liability coverage…but the junk yards are looking for us.

    Superman is just fine…a bit frustrated, but fine.

    I think that Bambie made it just fine. Nothing was on the side of the road. Maybe she just as a bit of roadcar rash on her rump.

  9. UGH. Glad your hubby is ok! 🙂 That’s quite a record, 5 in 10 years. Does he aim for them? 😛 I’ve had a few very close calls with deer around here, but have never made contact. Crazy deer! Don’t they know to cross at the deer crossing signs? 😉

  10. To Tressays: I worked with a girl who had whistles on her car and she still hit a deer. I’ve heard stories both ways. Some say they do and some say they don’t. If you haven’t hit a deer it sounds like it’s working for you.

  11. 5 deer in 10 years, that seems like a lot. I guess he is out when they are on the move. It’s a bummer about the car and I’m glad that he was not hurt.

  12. Wow, that’s really gross, the hair in the car and all. My aunt and uncle hit a dear a week ago while they were on their motorcycle. Killed the dear, nearly killed them. Actually they only had scrapes but no broken bones. God was really watching after them because it’s a miracle they didn’t get hurt. (and your hubby)

  13. I managed to not hit any deer for 20 yrs and now I’ve gotten 3 in 2 years, yes, thank goodness for junkyards and cheap replacement hoods(of course they crumple extra easily too) …does superman travel early in the mornings? Can’t miss them then!

Comments are closed.