May 4

Gardening……..it is in my blood. My great grandpa owned a 118 acre farm. (I know dad will tell me, as he worked this farm as a child.  He tells stories of being 13 and driving the tractors all over the place)

I remember going there as a child, helping my grandma pick strawberries, walking through the cow barn…….how I love the smell of old wood, the faint lingering scent of manure, feed and straw….meandering through the apple orchard, petting Tilly the blue healer, walking out in the pasture and being TOTALLY terrified of the cattle but there was always someone’s hand to hold, and pumping the hand pump outside. There is nothing……nothing better than to drink hand pumped well water out of a tin cup.

There are some things that are so vivid in my memory of Great grandma and grandpa’s house. Washing my hands with Lava soap, playing with an antique wood stove that grandma still used~~I loved this stove because it was just the right height for me to play with, rocking on a cane rocking chair, and eating the best food I’d ever tasted. I named my son after my great grandpa and my father. The boy has it in his blood too!

Wherever we have lived, my dad has always had a small spot somewhere to fiddle, and plant. I don’t remember ever eating much produce from them, but I always remember dad being out there with a hoe. My garden is MUCH smaller than my ancestors, but at least I am doing one.

So far, on the list to plant are zucchini, roma tomatoes, strawberries, walla-walla onion, and honeydew melon.

Hey dad~~were going to need your Mantis soon!

What are you planting this year???

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

13 thoughts on “May 4”

  1. The picture of the young man tilling the dirt in a kiddie pool, cracks me up. :LOL:

    I would like to say we are having a garden, but since everything dies here, I just don’t have the heart for it this year. I may plant some herbs.

    I would like to plant some lettuce, but the squirrels always eat the seeds.

    Hope your garden gives you lots of produce!

  2. I am going to be planting zucchini, Roma tomatoes, strawberries, Walla-Walla onion, and honeydew melon.

  3. I have no green thumb I kill just about everything I try to grow. But, you story reminded me of my great grandma and granpa’s farm. I do agree there is nothing better and more fresh and almost sweet tasting than drinking fresh handpumped water out of a tin cup. I can still taste it. Just the farm smells were amazing. And the things that we did we would just run around for hours and never get bored and always could find something to do.

    Thanks for reminding me of that memory.

  4. CC you have some lovely memories. 🙂

    I am not planting much this year because I am rebuilding the soil in parts of my garden. So far I have planted tomatoes, peppers, herbs, and flowers.

  5. Well, I’m going to attempt to follow in your footsteps, CC. I’ll be getting a couple of pools and some plants already started. I do it that way as I do not have the space in the house to start from seed.

    We’ll do a bit of broccoli & cauliflower, butter & romaine lettuce, strawberries, grape tomatoes, perhaps some zucchini and vidalia onions. Then after we have everything planted we’ll pray that the moose and rabbits don’t get them. We’ll have to put up surveyor tape on the fencing around the pools and pray for reg. breezes if the moose come around.

  6. I am going to plant tomatoes and seeds of kindness.If you plant things in your pools, do you swim in your garden?

  7. I didn’t actually get to plant it, but I will be helping tend a garden of zucchini, cantelope, corn, tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers,onions, lettus, carrots, rubarb, blueberries, blackberries, and a few other things I’m sure. I’m sure I’ll be doing a lot of weeding.

  8. Cute picture!!!
    Tanya, I love the story of you DGGF’s farm. I loved to go to my aunt’s farm. She had a cistern pump and the water was great. I found one like it and have it in my yard set up to look like it is used. Peonies from my uncle’s place are planted by it. Oh the wonderful memories!!

    I got my tomatoes in tonight. I hav green beans, cucumbers, and melons in right now. I will do more beans and more tomatoes. Plus green peppers.

    Mecky

Comments are closed.