Chocolatechic

A day in the life…

March 29

pecans and sugar

As far back as I can remember, food that was green was good for you.

Broccoli.

Salad.

Green beans.

Spinach.

Olives.

Brussel sprouts.

Asparagus.

Even the pistachio which, back in the olden days of rotary dial phones and 8 track tapes, were dyed green.

And what kid wants to eat green food?
pecans and butter

Now that I’m a grown up, I heart all those green foods.

What was I thinking?
dough balls

Oh…yeah….cookies are better than spinach.
snow covered

This couldn’t be truer than today’s TWD pick, that Tianne of Buttercream Barbie chose, Pecan Powder Puffs…also known as Mexican Wedding cookies or Russian Tea Cakes.

The girl made 3 batches of these cookies at Christmas time, and I think between the both of us, we at them all.
edible

Because these cookies are like pistachios….you can’t eat just one.

 

Just try it….it can’t be done.

Written by chocolatechic

Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 5:36 am

Posted in Life

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You forgot the most yummy green food…. guacamole.

    Annie

    Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 5:53 am

  2. Oh wow, your cookies turned out really pretty – mine were a little lumpier than that. I am with you – as a kid, I wouldn’t touch green food, and now a meal is incomplete without some.

    Cakelaw

    Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 6:18 am

  3. Wow, your cookies look perfectly melt-in-your mouth worthy. Love! I made the cocoa version.

    Katrina

    Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 6:35 am

  4. AH, the rotary phone and the 8 track. Those were the days….

    I’ve never made these cookies-can you believe it? I made my dough this morning and will have my post up tonight. Can’t wait to bake these up!

    Jennifer

    Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 7:09 am

  5. I could never eat just one of these. And that’s part of the reason I had to skip this week! But yours look really, really good.

    Jessica

    Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 7:43 am

  6. Wow these look perfect! I agree you can’t just eat one!

    Flourchild

    Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 8:48 am

  7. Yours are so pretty! As for the pistachios, I have to buy the ones in the shell so at least I have to work when I eat the whole bowl.

    Jill

    Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 9:10 am

  8. Your last picture is so great, I can just tell the texture is going to be perfect by looking at it. Great job on the cookies!

    AnneStrawberry

    Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 9:33 am

  9. Completely agree..I have to eat two or three every time I walk by the plate.

    Mary

    Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 1:56 pm

  10. pistachios – hmmm i wonder what these would have been like with pistachios! yours look amazing.

    Tia

    Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 2:52 pm

  11. Beautiful photos! I really want a cookie right now.
    Have a great day.

    cindy harris

    Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 3:57 pm

  12. Can’t eat one pistachio is an NCIS reference, right? I love that show!

    I get pistachios from my Persian coworker and the ones from there aren’t green! They sure are good though. I’m sure these were a hit with pistachios!

    Nicole

    Tuesday,March 29, 2011 at 8:59 pm

  13. i love green stuff, too, but cookies are better! speaking of pistachios…those would probably make for good green pwder puffs.

    steph (whisk/spoon)

    Wednesday,March 30, 2011 at 3:06 pm

  14. The only time I was able to eat just one was when we only had one left in the cookie jar.

    julessomeone

    Friday,April 1, 2011 at 5:12 pm

  15. These were good, I had one and then thought I would have a couple more in the evening…when oh when am I going to learn that with teenage boys around there is no “later” when it comes to food. Eat now or there will be none left. Enough said. Yours look wonderful.

    Kayte

    Saturday,April 2, 2011 at 8:35 pm

  16. Nope.
    Won’t do it.
    I know that I can’t so why try?

    Those look great!

    ElaineH

    Monday,April 4, 2011 at 4:50 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 483 other followers

