Chocolatechic

A day in the life…

February 21

Hey there Internet.

 

It is Monday and I am nosy.

 

  1. How and when did you learn to swim?
  2. How and when did you learn to drive?
  3. How and when did you learn to tie your shoelaces?
  4. How and when did you learn to cook?
  5. How and when did you learn to type?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

1.   I can not remember learning to swim….mom?  dad?   do you remember???

 

2.   My dad taught me to drive in Moore, Oklahoma the year I turned 16.   I’ll never forget him taking me to the high school parking lot and teaching me to park..great memories.

 

3.  Again…don’t remember

 

4.   I learned by watching my mother all my growing up years.

 

5.   I learned to type in high school on one of the first electric typewriters…the school didn’t have the funds to purchase new ones.   I think I was in 10th grade.

 

How about you?

Written by chocolatechic

Monday,February 21, 2011 at 7:28 am

Posted in Life

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lets see…
    I learned to swim when I was 16.
    Started learning to drive around 17.
    Learned to tie my shoes when I was 5 (according to my aunt lol)
    Still learning how to cook LOL
    Took 2 years typing in high school.

    Bobbi

    Monday,February 21, 2011 at 8:26 am

  2. My parents taught me how to swim very early, before I was five.

    My parents attempted to teach me how to drive,but they were impossibly nervous and they turned me into a wreck. I finally went to a driving school and got my license two years behind all my friends at 18 instead of 16.

    My parents tried to teach me how to tie my shoelaces, but they were… So my friend’s father taught me in less than five minutes. He was wonderful and I still tell him how great it was to learn how from him though it’s over 50 years later.

    My mother taught me how to bake, but she did not teach me how to cook. I learned that on my own via trial and error.

    Though I took typing class in high school, I really didn’t learn until the PC became such a big part of my life.

    Vee

    Monday,February 21, 2011 at 9:38 am

  3. Swim: age 12 taking lessons at a local high school

    Drive: age 18 taking lessons through AAA

    Shoelaces: I do not remember(check my name)

    Cook: watching mom and after married reading the food section in the local paper. Do food sections still exist? Food section day was a good day; checking the food ads, reading the new recipes and planning the weekly meals and grocery list.

    Typing: high school typing class. With the advent of computers perhaps my most valuable class.

    OldNuffToKnoBtr

    Monday,February 21, 2011 at 9:55 am

  4. 1. I learned to swim by taking lessons in the freezing cold lake just a few miles from our home. I was probably between 9 to 12.
    2. I learned to drive from my dad, down the back roads where we lived, when I was 13 to 14. When I was 16, my dad bought a standard truck. He was very, very patient teaching me to drive that truck, and as unhappy as I was at the time, I am very glad now that I know how to drive a standard.
    3. I don’t remember, but probably before I went to school. Now with velcro shoes, my kids haven’t had to learn until about grade 3 :)
    4. I learned from watching and helping my mother and grandmother all through my childhood.
    5. I learned to type on old typewriters in typing class in Grade 10.

    Lisa

    Monday,February 21, 2011 at 10:31 am

  5. 1.How and when did you learn to swim?
    CC, we learned to swim together… we had swim lessons at the pool in St. Marys, OH.

    2.How and when did you learn to drive?
    My boyfriend taught me when I was 14.

    3.How and when did you learn to tie your shoelaces?
    I’m sure I was about 4 years old. Not that I remember :)

    4.How and when did you learn to cook? My parents taught me how to cook at a young age, something that I am very thankful for.

    5.How and when did you learn to type? 10th grade, Mrs. Street in typing class. The typewritters weren’t that old.

    Annie

    Monday,February 21, 2011 at 10:59 am

  6. 1. I learned to swim sometime in the early 1960’s at Mountain Aire Pool in Atlanta, GA.

    2. I learned to drive, hmm, would that be the first time I took Drivers Ed, or the second time? Either 16 the first time, or 17 the second time.

    3. Can’t remember, age 4 or 5. What I can remember is that when I was 9 or 10, my mother discovered that I was doing it all wrong! Well, it worked for me.

    4. I learned to cook sometime around 14 years old, out of necessity.

    5. I learned to type in 10th grade, manual and electric.

    Kathryn

    Monday,February 21, 2011 at 11:28 am

  7. 1. How and when did you learn to swim? I don’t remember, but I was about 4 or 5, at the Westbrook, CY YMCA, which is where my daughter learned to swim 30 years later.

    2. How and when did you learn to drive? My dad taught me to drive a Korean War issue Jeep when I was 12. (It was about 35 years old at the time.) Having no functioning tach or speed gauge is a great way to learn to drive stick. However, I can only drive automatic now.

    3. How and when did you learn to tie your shoelaces? I’m sure I was no older than 5. I remember my mom teaching me. My almost-6-year-old can’t do it, because all the shoes have velcro. I need to work on that with her!

    4. How and when did you learn to cook? When I moved in with my now-husband. We had just moved to a very expensive city and cooking at home was our concession to the high rent. I just bought a cookbook here and there and tried stuff out. My mother intentionally didn’t teach me to cook, because as her own mother (also a great cook) explained to her, “Your husband will just want to eat what his mother made, so you’ll have to learn all over again.” Fortunately my husband eats everything.

    5. How and when did you learn to type? I remember doing some kind of computer tutorial in the 6th grade. This was all very high tech at the time. I still only type with four fingers of each hand.

    Jessica

    Monday,February 21, 2011 at 11:29 am

  8. 1.I have never learned to swim. I am petrified of water.

    2. My dad taught me to drive when I was 22. Took me to the cemetery,figured I couldn’t hurt too many people there.

    3.I was 5 when I learned to tie my shoes.

    4.I learned to cook when I was very young. My mother let me help in the kitchen a lot. She was the bestest cook ever.

    5. I learned to type in the 10th grade. Forgot how in the 11th.

    aunt cindy

    Monday,February 21, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    • #2 LOL!

      Annie

      Tuesday,February 22, 2011 at 9:21 am

  9. 1.How and when did you learn to swim? I learned to swin when I taught myself in Gratis and we had the pool – however I am not comfortable being in water where I cannot touch the bottom. I probably couldn’t save myself. You and Andra took swimming lessons when you were little. Ican’t remember where but I can remember what the pool looked like:)

    2.How and when did you learn to drive? I learned to drive when we lived on Providence. I went to Drivers Ed.I was pregnant with your sister.

    3.How and when did you learn to tie your shoelaces? I learned to tie my shoelaces with the help of my mom before I was in school.

    4.How and when did you learn to cook? I learned to cook partly by helping mom but mostly from Home Ed Cooking class in high school. Mrs Hupp and Mrs Snodgrass were my teachers.

    5.How and when did you learn to type? I learned to type in High School Typing class.

    Mama

    Monday,February 21, 2011 at 5:36 pm

  10. 1. I learned to swim at THE POOL, the Springfield Municipal Pool
    2. I took Drivers Ed in High School.
    3. Shoelaces at 5 Just before starting school.
    4. Learned to cook & sew in HomeEc in 9th grade. But Mrs Hupp didn’t like me because I couldn’t sew as good as your Mama & Aunt Cindy
    5. Learned to type in 10th grade. Barely passed.

    Aunt Sandy

    Monday,February 21, 2011 at 8:59 pm

  11. I can’t remember my age, but I have this vague memory of my Daddy keeping me safe and letting me go when I was ready!

    I took driver’s ed at Palmer High School. Dad tried to teach me but just couldn’t handle it. Now that I have kids of my own, I completely understand this.

    I must have been 5 as I was in school(kindergarten) and I kept tying and untying the laces because I was afraid I’d forget how to by the time I got home to show Mom. teehee…

    My Mom taught me how to bake(mostly)and we did more meal preparation things so I could get my cooking badge in Girl Scouts! MY MOM is the best cook on the planet. With practice, we can ALL learn.

    I learned to type in 12th grade, it was a requirement for graduation! Never was very good at it. With computers, I find it far more enjoyable than having to fix mistakes with whiteout! Can you say smeared up term paper? I knew that you could!

    Donna@soakinginmustard

    Tuesday,February 22, 2011 at 7:48 am

  12. 1.How and when did you learn to swim? I was so young, I don’t remember. My Dad taught me.
    2.How and when did you learn to drive? According to my wife, I’m still learning.
    3.How and when did you learn to tie your shoelaces?
    When my mom put her foot down and refused to do it for me.
    4.How and when did you learn to cook? If I cook something good, it’s pure luck and I have no idea how I did it.
    5.How and when did you learn to type?
    Does one finger count?

    Cousin Jerry

    Tuesday,February 22, 2011 at 2:42 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 473 other followers

