Chocolatechic

A day in the life…

December 28

Hello Tuesday’s with Dorie.

Guess what?

I have a post.

I got up at 4am to make my TWD, but I pinky swore and my word is my bond.

 

Today we were allowed to choose a rewind recipe.   That means we can do a recipe that has already been chosen.   It might be one that we want to eat again and again or one that we might have missed.

Mine is one that I missed.

Snickery Squares.

They are so delicious.   Only they taste like a Twix with nuts…so we could call them a Snix or a Twickers.  Irregardless they are fabulous!

 

Whoever coined the phrase “Sugar and spice and everything nice, that’s what girls are made of” hit the nail on the head.
crust

See, women sugar is sweet and tastes great…but…

sugar
If you are not observant, attentive or patient, sugar will turn. on. you. in a heart beat.

 

caramelized peanuts

It can go from deliciously smooth and rich to burnt and bitter in a matter of seconds, and I have heard that a woman can too.

Not that I know anything about that at. all.

Dad, stop shaking your head.

finished

So the moral of the story is don’t let your women sugar go unattended for any amount of time.

 

Not even to go to the bathroom.

 

Just sayin’.

.

 

Written by chocolatechic

Tuesday,December 28, 2010 at 7:54 am

Posted in Life

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You had me at caramelization. How could I have missed this recipe?
    Your photos are gorgeous, as always. You should think about linking with Facebook so I can share you with my friends.

    Clivia

    Tuesday,December 28, 2010 at 8:34 am

  2. I need to make these treats. So many treats, so little time! Have a Happy New Year.

    cindy harris

    Tuesday,December 28, 2010 at 10:48 am

  3. So true about women and sugar and spice. So very true. I can’t believe I haven’t made these yet – maybe I should go do a pantry check.

    Jessica

    Tuesday,December 28, 2010 at 11:04 am

  4. This is one that I have yet to make. I’m thinking that it will be sooner instead of later. 4:00 AM? You are a good woman.

    julessomeone

    Tuesday,December 28, 2010 at 11:24 am

  5. This is the recipe that drew me to TWD and the first recipe in which I killed a household appliance. Your pictures are gorgeous! :) Glad these turned out so well!

    Karen

    Tuesday,December 28, 2010 at 12:14 pm

  6. Made these for Nov rewind and they were a huge hit. My caramel never did harden up the way it should have, but were sooooo good.

    Love the analogy!! Not that I, either, would know about that…..

    teaandscones

    Tuesday,December 28, 2010 at 4:36 pm

  7. Great photos! 4 am??? That is some TWD dedication!

    cstewarts

    Tuesday,December 28, 2010 at 8:40 pm

  8. Those are some darn good squares. And I totally get ya about sugar (and women).

    Katrina

    Tuesday,December 28, 2010 at 11:04 pm

  9. Oh yea, snickery squares are awesome! Glad you enjoyed them.

    Jacque

    Tuesday,December 28, 2010 at 11:09 pm

  10. That looks yummy. I set sugar on fire in my microwave once.

    appliejuice

    Tuesday,December 28, 2010 at 11:20 pm

  11. wow, those are really great photos. I haven’t made anything yet, still trying to decide if I am going to as it is Wednesday and we are sort of dessert-ed out here at the moment. On to a new year!

    Kayte

    Wednesday,December 29, 2010 at 7:42 am

  12. This is one of my all-time favorites. Agree…and I like a little moral lesson thrown in there with my baked goods!

    Mary

    Wednesday,December 29, 2010 at 4:39 pm

  13. Muahaha! I loved these-and love this post.

    You are out of your funk, my friend.:)

    juju73

    Wednesday,December 29, 2010 at 9:36 pm

  14. I almost made these for the rewind. Sure would have been easier than cinnamon rolls, but the 4 AM bit is holding me back. :-)

    Leslie

    Thursday,December 30, 2010 at 9:33 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 483 other followers

