Chocolatechic

A day in the life…

December 24

It is Friday, Internet.

Not only is it Christmas Eve, but it is time for FFwD.

As a 9-10 year old I had just learned what “take a leak” meant, and when you are that age, any kind of potty humor is just beyond funny.

Around that time, we had gone over at my Grandma and Grandpa Teal’s house.

Now my dad’s parents were very proper and practical.

Grandma especially.

We were over there for supper and she had made some potato soup.

The Mother asked her how she made it.

Grandma said “well, you take a leek and put it in the pot”.

It was at that moment I think the Mother wanted to die because I thought it was hysterical. I laughed.  I laughed loud and long.

The adults were not amused.

garlic and onion

When I read that we were making Leek and Potato soup, I immediately thought of my Grandma.

And how much I am like her.

Practical, frugal, a place for everything and everything in its place.

fingerling potatoes

I did make a few substitutions.

1. Pothole does not know what a leek is, (snicker…bwahahahahaha) so I used extra onion.

2. Chocolatechic did not have russet potatoes, so she used fingerling ones instead.

thyme

And cream.

Heavy cream.

Grandma Teal would have used water.   She was a product of the Great Depression.

yummy
This soup was just so good I could have eaten it till I exploded.

I will be making this again and again and again…thinking of my Grandma every time I do.

I miss you Grandma.

Written by chocolatechic

Friday,December 24, 2010 at 8:01 am

Posted in Life

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Potato onion soup is one of my favorites…we have it here a lot…

    Looks good…

    Janie

    Friday,December 24, 2010 at 8:50 am

  2. Mmmm good. We had potato soup last night sans leeks. I love using leeks…putting them in a pot, and all.

    Sheri

    Friday,December 24, 2010 at 11:23 am

  3. Love that this brought up sweet memories of your grandma! :) I would have laughed as well if my grandma said “take a leek”.

    Karen

    Friday,December 24, 2010 at 12:12 pm

  4. Great story! Your substitutions sound great and I loved this one too.

    Candy

    Friday,December 24, 2010 at 1:40 pm

  5. My favorite recipes are the ones that walk me down a memory. Thanks for the post and the chuckles.
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

    Trevor Sis Boom

    Friday,December 24, 2010 at 2:51 pm

  6. Love that story – I seriously laughed out loud. And my grandmother would not have been amused either!
    Just this last week I watched Jeopardy with my kids, thinking it was a good educational show. Guess what they learned? That the Yiddish word for bellybutton is pupik. My sons laughed loud and long, taught their sisters, and a cousin, and spent the next 3 or 4 days pointing out their pupiks as often as possible.
    I also love potato soup. Every time I make it, I eat until I think I might explode.

    Lisa

    Friday,December 24, 2010 at 4:49 pm

  7. I miss Mama too! Your right, she would have used water…I’m surprised that she used a leek.

    worthyofpraise

    Friday,December 24, 2010 at 10:01 pm

  8. Take a leak and put it in a pot. Love it!!! It’s so much fun how many great memories everyone shares while cooking these recipes. Seems like we are all in the same pot in one way or another (pun intended!)

    StephIrey

    Sunday,December 26, 2010 at 3:21 pm

  9. Food brings the best memories. I loved your story. I would be laughing as much as you did.
    But the soup was wonderful, really a keeper for goods.

    Lana

    Monday,December 27, 2010 at 4:50 am


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 473 other followers

