Chocolatechic

A day in the life…

October 19

sugar

The Mother likes to share the story of when I was very little I didn’t like Thanksgiving.

She says that I would say “I don’t like Thanksgiving, there is just. to. much. food!”

boiling

Oh…little CC…you were just so naive.

And obviously, I have done a complete 180.

filling

One Thanksgiving food that I just never cared for was pumpkin pie.

To me pumpkin pie is bland.

Vanilla

Nothing like a pecan pie, peanut butter pie, or mom’s apple pie.

unbaked

Then there is the whole texture issue…

done

I almost didn’t make today’s Caramel Pumpkin Pie that Janelle of Mortensen Family Memoirs chose for use to make for today’s TWD.

 

But my friend C loves PP, so I halved the recipe and am giving it to her.

I hope she likes it.

Written by chocolatechic

Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 6:48 am

Posted in Life

28 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Since I took the time and energy to try this, I seriously want to know what went wrong with mine. It did not have the texture of a regular pumpkin pie. Yours is beautiful. . sorry you didn’t love it either. thanks for stopping by this morning. . .

    Peggy

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 7:05 am

  2. This one was not a favorite. Too bitter and boozy. Yours looks lovely!

    julessomeone

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 8:18 am

  3. My brother feels the same way as you do about pumpkin pie (he’s an apple kinda guy). I hope your friend enjoyed the pie!

    Linda

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 8:26 am

  4. i think your friend is very lucky to be getting this!

    steph (whisk/spoon)

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 8:27 am

  5. Pumpkin pie bland?! You never had my great grandmothers PP…
    I am not on the TWD crew..(too late for it) but I bake along with it..will do this one later..everyone in our family LOVES PP but that is because we make my GG’s…so I will give this one a try and see what happens..

    Jane

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 8:53 am

  6. Pecan pie addiction must be a genetic condition. I remember your mom’s family before you were born, and that was their addiction. My favorite pie is mince-meat.(so long as I don’t think about what’s in it!)

    Cousin Jerry

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 8:56 am

  7. My caramel broke, too! The texture of my pie looked exactly like yours.

    Beth

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 9:41 am

  8. Pumpkin pie is my mother’s favourite pie. I won’t go out of my way for it, but I’ll eat a piece at Thanksgiving.
    Pumpkin pie will always remind me of my cousin. When they first moved up here, close to us, we went over to my in-laws for Thanksgiving. I had not thought to warn her ahead of time of a certain aunt’s lack of cooking skills and she ended up having to eat a piece of this aunt’s pumpkin pie. I apologize to her every year.

    Lisa

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 9:46 am

  9. I’m sure your friend will love it. You made a beautiful pie.

    cindy harris

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 10:40 am

  10. beautiful fluting on the edges of the pie!

    Tia

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 10:55 am

  11. I love pumpkin pie. I especially like it more now that I do up my own pumpkin. Very yummy.Yours looked very good. I also like your mom’s apple pie and I like pecan pie, and your butterscotch pie, and……..

    aunt cindy

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 1:06 pm

  12. Your pie crust look great. I cannot seem to make a nice crust!
    Pumpkin pie is not my favorite either, but with the caramel this was actually pretty good! Nice of you to make it for a friend.
    Are there any pie fluting lessons anywhere?

    Katrina

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 1:27 pm

  13. I hope C liked it too! Thanks for baking along with me this week–especially since you don’t even like pumpkin pie!

    Janell

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 2:02 pm

  14. Yummm…that looks really good!! I have never really mastered pie crust…:-(

    Ginger

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 2:53 pm

  15. I’m not a fan either, but you were so nice to make it for your friend! It almost looks too good to give away!

    Leslie

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 4:18 pm

  16. Great photos! I especially like the one of the unbaked filling in the beautifully fluted crust. I didn’t like pumpkin pie till I was a grown-up (the colour! the texture!), but now I love it. Only my own recipe though. :)

    Mary

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 7:17 pm

  17. Yeah, mine seized, too. Wasn’t a fan. But I do love regular pumpkin pie. What’s this peanut butter pie business? Going to have to check it out…

    Jodie

    Tuesday,October 19, 2010 at 9:48 pm

  18. Your pie looks lovely.

    I, too, have never been a fan of pumpkin pie-but I made this one to share with co-workers and because my husband adores pumpkin pie.

    I had some real issue with this one, but, I forged ahead and made it anyway. Posted late last night.

    juju73

    Wednesday,October 20, 2010 at 4:42 am

  19. Your pie looks delicious! So, you put the filling in an unbaked shell? It looks like it worked out and you avoided burning the edges.

    Clivia

    Wednesday,October 20, 2010 at 6:32 am

    • Yes.

      I didn’t bother to blind bake it because I don’t generally do it with a regular pumpkin pie and I didn’t see the necessity of it.

      chocolatechic

      Wednesday,October 20, 2010 at 6:39 am

  20. I bet your friend will love it!

    Spike

    Wednesday,October 20, 2010 at 9:59 am

  21. I always admire when folks make a recipe knowing they might not like it. You did a bang-up job for this week.

    Jacque

    Wednesday,October 20, 2010 at 10:11 am

  22. Your friend would have loved you for this – your pie looks fab!

    Cakelaw

    Wednesday,October 20, 2010 at 4:20 pm

  23. I hope your friend enjoys the pie. Looks good to me!

    Pamela

    Wednesday,October 20, 2010 at 8:58 pm

  24. That is the best pie crust fluting I have ever seen – I am going to aspire to that with the apple pie (although I know I’ll fall woefully short). I bet your pumpkin pie loving friend enjoyed this!

    Cathy

    Thursday,October 21, 2010 at 12:42 pm

  25. So is that the tiny little LB pie plate you spoke of in your comment on my blog? A seven inch size? So cute, I need one of those, don’t I? I used a regular size LB pie plate. Either way, they look great in those. And we loved it!

    Kayte

    Thursday,October 21, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    • Yeah. Superman got me 4 of them for Christmas last year.

      chocolatechic

      Thursday,October 21, 2010 at 7:05 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 462 other followers

