Chocolatechic

A day in the life…

January 19

Have you ever met someone that was difficult to get to know.

You really want to get to know them, but they have this hard crusty shell.

But once you break through, they are just the sweetest people, and you just can not get enough of them.

That is exactly how today’s TWD recipe of Chocolate Oatmeal Almost Candy Bars, that Lillian of Confectiona’s Realm picked for today was.

A thick oatmeal cookie base.

Then a rich chewy chocolate layer, with chopped nuts.

It was supposed to have raisins in the chocolate layer, but ewwwwwwwwww raisins!

Shoot me now!

And then a bit of the base for the top.

It was supposed to have cinnamon in the cookie layer, but I didn’t include it for one reason.

I put Reeses peanut butter chips in the topping, and I didn’t think that cinnamon would go with the theme of chocolate and peanut butter.

This was a fun, quick and easy dessert.

It was fabulous tasting, and I plan on making this again and again.

If you’d like to make these, go check out Lillian’s blog.   She has the recipe.

Make sure you have a full glass of milk to drink when you eat these, because they are rich!

.

A thick heavy oatmeal base.

Written by chocolatechic

Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 7:53 am

Posted in Life

50 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMW you really know how to up the recipe this week! Most week actually, but this one has just got to put it right over the top. Matt could not get enough of these. Matter of fact, making another batch today and hiding half of it in the freezer to pull out later. Your photos are outstanding, as always.

    Kayte

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 8:19 am

  2. Lovely! I used buttered toffee chips instead of regular peanuts. It was a success!

    Sabrina

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 8:25 am

  3. Great ! i wish I could find all the chips you have !

    natalia

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 8:31 am

  4. De-lish! I always love your photos and how simply you write things!

    Katrina

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 9:42 am

  5. Reeses peanut butter chips are one of those dangerous items, at least for me. I could easily eat an entire bag. They must have been delicious in the bars! :)

    Valerina

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 10:01 am

  6. Sounds delicious. I will have to look this one up and try it.

    Lisa

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 10:06 am

  7. I think the cinnamon would have been great! I like cinnamon in just about anything. Lovely pictures!

    miss kate

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 10:13 am

  8. PB chips…now that sounds like a fantastic addition!

    Linda

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 10:21 am

  9. I love how you used PB chips! I bet they tasted great.

    Mary Ann

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 10:21 am

  10. I’ll be making this one again as well! and raisins are gross!

    Spike

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 10:36 am

  11. Love your description comparing cookie with getting to know someone. Clever.

    chayacomfycook

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 10:38 am

  12. um, can we say friggin’ delish?!

    Jeannette

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 10:46 am

  13. Those look lovely! I actually enjoyed the raisins in mine. ;-)

    Jules

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 10:47 am

  14. I left the raisins out to, sick!
    Im glad you liked the bars..I loved them and thought they tasted so good!!

    Michelle

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 11:00 am

  15. Wow, I really wish I could have thought to add peanut butter- that sounds amazing!

    Erin

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 11:02 am

  16. These look great! I may have to find myself some of those peanut butter chips and try them out again!

    Mary

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 11:40 am

  17. These were SOOOO good! One of my new favorites!!!!

    Raisin haters unite!:)

    juju73

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 12:13 pm

  18. I’m fairly certain I like your way WAY better.

    dawn

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 12:13 pm

  19. yum, yum! PB chips were a good call!

    steph (whisk/spoon)

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 1:07 pm

  20. I love your substitutions! My self-control would have been totally out the window if I had used PB chips!

    Jessica

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 1:55 pm

  21. I didn’t add the cinnamon either, but now I wish I’d added some peanut butter chips. Or chopped Reese’s peanut butter cups? Yum!

    Amy

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 2:12 pm

  22. Peanut Butter chips? Fabulous.

    Kelly D

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 2:17 pm

  23. Mmm, using the peanut butter chips was a fantastic idea. I debated using Skor bits but eventually settled on substituting nothing for the rasins. Your bars look absolutely delicious. Great job as always!

    Kaitlin

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 2:44 pm

  24. Looks great! I bet the PB chips were fantastic!

    Amy (Sing For Your Supper)

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 3:15 pm

  25. You hit the nail on the head with this recipe – especially with peanut butter. YUM.

    Jessica

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 3:15 pm

  26. That looks good. :)

    appliejuice

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 3:18 pm

  27. FUN! Love the chocolate chip addition and wish I had skipped the raisins. Great pics too! Beautiful

    Shandy

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 4:16 pm

  28. Sorry, Peanut butter chips, not chocolate chips.

    Shandy

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 4:17 pm

  29. These really are delish. I enjoyed checking out your blog–fun! My son is in Texas. It is cold enough I think the bars will be ok in the mail. Packages from home are always fun.

    cindy harris

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 4:31 pm

  30. You bake a lot of great things, but this looks seriously good.

    Suzanne

    suzanne, the Farmer's Wife

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 4:33 pm

  31. Peanut butter chips are brilliant, although I think the cinnamon would have worked just fine with them. (Cinnamon goes with everything!) Ooh, that gives me an idea: Maybe I’ll try them with almonds and cinnamon chips. So many options! Thanks for baking with me this week!

    Lillian

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 4:38 pm

  32. LOL – I love your analogy between these bars and a difficult to know person. Peanut butter chips – yum! We don’t get those here, sadly. Your bars look great.

    Cakelaw

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 5:30 pm

  33. You used peanut butter chips? Darn, now I have to make this again. Your innovations always brighten my Tuesdays!

    Clivia

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 5:48 pm

  34. A woman after my heart! I love peanut butter and chocolate. I also like raisins though. :) Your bars look so good!!

    Susan

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 6:57 pm

  35. Peanut butter chips sound like a change for the better. Love your photos.

    chayacomfycook

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 7:04 pm

  36. Yours look great as always.

    Sharon

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 7:22 pm

  37. I will excuse you for omitting the raisins, because peanut butter chips sound really good!

    Jill

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 9:33 pm

  38. Oooh, a Reese’s variation… brilliant!

    Jacque Hutson

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 11:02 pm

  39. Love it. Left out the raisins, too. They have no place in a yummy dessert.

    Jodie

    Tuesday,January 19, 2010 at 11:12 pm

  40. I love Reese’s peanut butter chips, what a great idea to add them. Your photos are amazing, as always.

    Margot

    Wednesday,January 20, 2010 at 12:34 am

  41. I was wishing for peanut butter chips when I was putting these together. If anything could improve these bars it would be peanut butter. I loved these. And ick to raisins!

    Jessica

    Wednesday,January 20, 2010 at 8:14 am

  42. I changed my mind about these bars after they had been in the fridge overnight. Amazing-they were fabulous! Your step-by-step photos always look inviting.

    Lynne

    Wednesday,January 20, 2010 at 12:39 pm

  43. You know, I thought about peanut butter chips, but couldn’t think where to put them – I love how yours turned out!!

    Holly

    Wednesday,January 20, 2010 at 2:33 pm

  44. I’m with you on the raisins – I should have left them out. These were great even with the raisins, so I can imagine how good they are with Reese’s chips!

    Madam Chow

    Wednesday,January 20, 2010 at 3:06 pm

  45. I have been seeing these bars everywhere on the baking blogs but I must say, none have got my mouth watering quite like your photos! That one of the chocolate looks so decadent and delicious-you’ve convinced me to give this recipe a try :)

    Megan

    Wednesday,January 20, 2010 at 5:32 pm

  46. I am so with you on peanut butter chips in place of the raisins. I don’t love raisins and thought they made this too sweet.

    Leslie

    Wednesday,January 20, 2010 at 9:15 pm

  47. Great idea with the peanut butter chips!

    Amanda

    Thursday,January 21, 2010 at 8:12 am

  48. I must admit that those look so very good it was hard not to lean forward and lick the screen of my laptop!

    You are so mean to torture your friends with such photos….I’m trying to control my diet more.

    Elaine

    Thursday,January 21, 2010 at 10:51 pm

  49. PB chips on top? Hubba hubba! I wish I’d thought of that for sure. Glad you loved them!

    Elizabeth - Cake or Death

    Saturday,January 23, 2010 at 1:34 am

  50. You take the most beautiful pictures!
    I’m with you on raisins, bleah.
    Is it bad that I thought it needed more chocolate? I have a big sweet tooth too…

    uclala

    Sunday,January 24, 2010 at 8:26 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 483 other followers

