Chocolatechic

A day in the life…

January 12

It is Tuesday again, Internet, and time for another episode of TWD.

Only TWD has been preempted.

How in the world could I let preemption happen?

Uh….because I didn’t make today’s selection of Mrs. Vogel’s Scherben picked by Teanna of Spork or Foon?. I didn’t make them because I would basically be the only one eating them this week, and quite frankly they didn’t appeal to me.

Don’t be a hater.

Instead, I’m gonna show you how to make a Bird of Paradise.

The boy has been taking a Garde Manger class this quarter, and couldn’t wait to show me how to make this lovely little thing.

First you grab an apple, begin to mess with it, but wait!   gotta send a text first.

Mix some water and lemon juice.

Sharpen mom’s wee knife instead of using the professional knife that mom bought for college, because that might take him away from the texting.

Slice a wee bit off the bottom and dip into the lemon juice.

Dip the bottom, too because we don’t want it turning brown.

Slice three ovals into the apple, getting larger as you go.   You can see how they are being cut.

Dip all the pieces into the lemon juice, stopping only to text.

Cut out a chunk for the neck.

Fan out the ovals on the sides.

And on the top.

Take the bottom piece and wack wee bits off.

He didn’t show me how to do this because of the texting.

Take a wee bit of tooth pick and attach the head, and voila.

Bird of paradise.

Isn’t it lovely?

But who?   who could be the beneficiary of all that texting???

Why his sweet girlfriend Bethany of course.

.

Written by chocolatechic

Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 6:39 am

Posted in Life

34 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This was way better than seeing more TWD actually…LOL. How much can one say about all those little selves fried in oil and sprinkled w powdered sugar? Very cute little birdie over here, and the chick looks very cute, too. Fun post. BTW, tried to email you at 4hisglory, etc. email and it was returned saying there was no such address, but it was the same address I had used before when we were chatting last week. Thoughts? We made flatbread this week and I wanted to see if you wanted to twitter flatbread with us! Re comment on LB plates, etc. Not intentional, except for this week…it WAS intentional this week as my thoughts on the recent events left me feeling a little uncharitable about featuring it this week. It can’t last as I don’t own much else, but this week, I decided I wasn’t giving it a nod. Thoughts and hugs for all of you.

    Kayte

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 7:24 am

    • Your such a dear, sweet woman!

      My email address is 4hisglory92

      Ahh…flat bread…sounds wonderful.

      chocolatechic

      Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 7:32 am

  2. I totally understand the texting, my daughter texts me from her room or sitting at the end of the couch. Love the bird of paradise, always wondered how they did those things.

    So glad superman found another job. Will continue to pray for you and your family. Logging onto your blog is one of the highlights of my day.

    tmneill

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 8:10 am

  3. Much better than TWD!!! Finally someone found a use for Red Delicous apples.

    frugalwannabe

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 8:21 am

  4. I didn’t have time to make my TWD this week… that is my excuse. :) I love the Bird of Paradise! How beautiful! What great skills!

    Sabrina

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 8:35 am

  5. Beautiful !!

    natalia

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 9:01 am

  6. Fun photos! Love the apple and the texting girlfriend.

    Katrina

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 9:11 am

  7. This is amazing! It’s like origami for fruit. :-)

    LisaF

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 9:30 am

  8. very cute post! I love that he’s in cooking school or should I say culinary. My hubby is pushing me to go to CIA–it’s not like we don’t already have $60K in student loans already.

    dawn

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 9:42 am

  9. Thank you so much Chic for keeping up with me while I was away! I appreciate it very much!

    A very happy new year to you and your family… lots of joy, health and prosperity, and of course, many more posts to make us laugh!

    vibi

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 9:58 am

  10. Love the bird – that’s so cute!
    And I love the making fun of the son with the texting :) I tell my four children that that’s why we had them – to make them work, and to laugh at them :)

    Lisa

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 10:28 am

  11. Ok, that’s impressive! What a cool edible artwork!

    Amy

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 11:25 am

  12. Hahahahahaha…I’m getting such a kick out of this. Now if you tell me that Bethany was sitting right there watching this all the time, I’ll be on the floor.

    And, btw, what a lovely creation!

    Vee

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 11:51 am

  13. so cool! I want to try it!!!

    Spike

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 12:04 pm

  14. Love the bird and it is much more exciting than fried dough. Your post is wonderful and I love the texting breaks.

    Kim

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 12:51 pm

  15. Too cute

    Sharon

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 1:34 pm

  16. That is quite a talented son you have there! Texting and styling at the same time – didn’t even break a sweat! My hands would be shaking and there would be blood, I’m sure of it!

    Teanna

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 2:44 pm

  17. How fun it that? :) Such a sweet delicious little bird of paradise!

    Karen

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 2:49 pm

  18. SO cute!

    juju73

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 3:18 pm

  19. Beautiful bird of paradise! How cool!

    Jayne

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 3:59 pm

  20. Awesome apple trick -

    Megan

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 4:08 pm

  21. My nephew has a girlfriend….. I’m getting old.

    Annie

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    • Yes, I realize I was married at his age, but he’s my nephew…. he’s supposed to stay little.

      Annie

      Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 4:26 pm

  22. Of course she is a doll. (she better be !!!) Love the apple carving.

    Aunt Cindy

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 4:38 pm

  23. LOL – hilarious! I love this post.

    Cakelaw

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 5:30 pm

  24. The bird is so cute! Do they teach multitasking with texting at school? :)

    Jill

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 7:00 pm

  25. Hilarious! Not sure I could text with a knife in my hand, and I certainly couldn’t make a bird of paradise out of an apple. Nice!

    Mary

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 7:12 pm

  26. So clever!

    Romaine

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 7:16 pm

  27. When do we get to meet BethanY? She’s a cutie!

    Now I know who he’s been texting:)

    Love the apple

    MOM

    Tuesday,January 12, 2010 at 9:14 pm

  28. Cute little birdie! I’m impressed he did it so effortlessly…all in between texts! :)

    Amber Mull

    Wednesday,January 13, 2010 at 12:28 am

  29. She is very pretty, and I’m glad you like her so much. Congrats and best wishes.

    Teresa

    Wednesday,January 13, 2010 at 8:47 pm

  30. I skipped it as well. There was cake, though!

    Jules

    Thursday,January 14, 2010 at 10:58 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 473 other followers

