Chocolatechic

A day in the life…

July 8

As you know, I purchased a washing machine.

The store that I purchased it from told me…”if you have the old machine out, and ready for the new one, the delivery men will install it, and make sure it is working.”

Score!

Free delivery!

Score!

Free set up!

So Monday, the boy and I began to remove the old machine.

But we ran into problems right away.

There was absolutely no way that it would come out.

It was stuck.

It was then that we remembered that the sink wasn’t installed when we first put in the washing machine.

Alrightythen.

We had to remove everything from the mud room.

Everything, and the brownies were forgotten.

The kitchen got so full of stuff that the sink was relegated to the out of doors.

Then the boy got to work wrestling the machine to the front porch.

It took him about 15 minutes.

It wouldn’t make it past the door, so the door to the mudroom had to come off.

Wiped sweat off face.

The machine made it out of the mudroom…6 whole inches before we realized that the refrigerator handle was in the way.

Off it came.

Machine on the porch…check.

Wiped sweat off of face.

Fridge handle back on…check.

Door back on the hinges…check.

Finally I was able to go back into the mudroom, and for the sake of full disclosure….

I swept up about 2 cups of litter and enough cat fur to make a kitten.

Where is all this sweat coming from?

Mop the floor…check.

Wiped sweat off of face.

Put all the cat stuff back in the room…check.

Wiped sweat off face.

Ate a brownie…or four.

Yesterday morning the men arrived with my new machine.

Door back off the hinges…check.

And the machine makes it into the room.

All hooked up…check.

Moving man: could you please turn the water back on so that we can make sure it is working properly.

CC:  not really a good idea.   The sink lines are still open.

Moving man:   That’s ok, it will be alright.

CC: shrugs and hobbles trots downstairs to turn on the water…hobbles trots back upstairs into the mudroom only to see 2 men frantically trying to plug the sink lines with their fingers.

Moving man:  frantically looking up says “turn it off”

CC: giggles to self as she makes her way back down the stairs.

Back upstairs to see Moving men freaking out because of all the water.

CC: mops the floor…..again

When the boy got home from work, he put the sink back in.

And all is right with the world.

Now to wash some clothes.

.

Written by chocolatechic

Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 8:34 am

Posted in Life

28 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Moving man: could you please turn the water back on so that we can make sure it is working properly.

    CC: not really a good idea. The sink lines are still open.

    Moving man: That’s ok, it will be alright.

    CC: shrugs and hobbles trots downstairs to turn on the water…hobbles trots back upstairs into the mudroom only to see 2 men frantically trying to plug the sink lines with their fingers.

    Moving man: frantically looking up says “turn it off”

    CC: giggles to self as she makes her way back down the stairs.

    Back upstairs to see Moving men freaking out because of all the water.

    Thanks! You made my day!!

    Jacki

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 8:44 am

  2. I’m so jealous! I’ve been wanting a front loading machine for soooooo long!
    I can’t wait to hear how well it works and how much water you save? I’m all about conserving, but not for the ‘green’ aspects of the earth- I’m conserving for my own ‘green’ $$$$$ aspects of my wallet!

    Mom23b's

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 8:45 am

  3. First, I’m so glad you got a new “toy.” A washing machine is a necessity and it is always fun to get new appliance. Second, I didn’t even know they had cappacino chips. I learn so much from you. Great brownies.

    peggy

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 8:57 am

  4. That sounds like a fun day!

    P.S. I have that same border in my laundry room (only green).

    Kristy

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 9:09 am

  5. Pretty wash machine. I would love a new one, but it is near the bottom of my list. Bummer.

    tressays

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 9:41 am

  6. We needed a new fridge more than a washer. But it was on sale, and her “Majesty” wanted one REALLY bad…….so off we went to get her a new toy. Next on the list is a new fridge. I want one, because the fridge freezes the food, and the freezer refrigerates the food….so annoying. Well, I’m off to do school, have a lovely day y’all!!!!!!!!!!!
    Love,
    kbvintagechic
    P.S. She wont let anyone use it, until she has used it for a week. So she LOVES her new toy.

    chocolatechic

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 9:51 am

  7. Labor intensive! LOL! I was giggling throughout this entire post. Sooo happy that all is well again and that you had a willing helper. The washing machine looks great and I’m sure it works great, too.

    Vee

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 9:59 am

  8. Hilarious!

    Kath

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 10:01 am

  9. Love the new washer. I want to get the front loading one next. Keep us posted on how well you like. Was laughing through your entire post, I really needed the laugh today.

    michelle

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 10:28 am

  10. It’s like a house of cards. But with a beautiful new washing machine at the end. Thanks so much for sharing it with us.

    Clivia

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 10:37 am

  11. Wow, what a time that was! Glad you got your washer. Do you love it?

    appliejuice

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 10:43 am

  12. where was “cocktail hour started early, check!” ?
    you are lucky to have had your son at home. check!

    now where do you dry your clothes when it’s freezing outside? I’ve tried that and it ruins my fabric of the clothes. (I have a brand new dryer, but my tightwad landlord won’t get it working for me. There needs to be a hose installed for dryer to vent…crazy right?)

    dawn

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 10:44 am

  13. I say you get extra points for not saying TOLD YOU SO!!

    Joanna

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 2:18 pm

  14. WHOA. I was tired and wiping off sweat just READING the post…

    Please stop by my blog dear friend, there’s an award waiting for you.:)

    juju73

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 2:25 pm

  15. I was afraid you were going to say that they couldn’t get it delivered for another week or so. Every time I see a front loader I think of the cartoons where the cat is in the washer going around and around.

    aunt cindy

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 2:52 pm

  16. I am amazed at your patience through this whole ordeal.

    OldNuftoKnoBtr

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 3:27 pm

  17. I have a front loading washer and I love it!

    Aunt Mary

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 5:39 pm

  18. Oh my goodness. I love the way you tell stories!

    NICE washer!

    Robin in New Jersey

    Wednesday,July 8, 2009 at 6:19 pm

  19. I can’t believe this happened to you. What’s going on? It must be a full moon or something. My new machine was delivered only to find out the new models are one inch larger than the old ones? We had to rip out the cabinet with the laundry sink and move it over. While we were at it, we tiled the back wall.

    You’ve done a good job. All these projects have a snowball effect. Where do you keep your dryer, or do you have a clothesline?

    - Suzanne

    P.S. You new machine is beautiful and probably quiet. My bottom-of-the line machine sounds like a machine gun. Sigh.

    suzanne, the Farmer's Wife

    Thursday,July 9, 2009 at 5:46 am

    • It is fairly quiet. Although one cat is scared to death of it, and the other is absolutely fascinated.

      I haven’t owned a dryer in about 12 or 13 years. I have a line outside and 5 in the basement.

      chocolatechic

      Thursday,July 9, 2009 at 7:12 am

  20. ha ha Fun!

    homeschoolmom4

    Thursday,July 9, 2009 at 10:01 am

  21. WEEEEEEEE!!! Mine arrives tomorrow. After some last minute laundry room prep this evening, hubby said, “I’d like to think we’ve done everything we can to make this as easy an installation as possible.” I’m not going to let him read your post. LOL!

    Happy Washing! :D

    Tresses

    Thursday,July 9, 2009 at 8:47 pm

  22. Oh my! Life is such an adventure.
    And I think the “stuff” under your washer wasn’t that bad. I’m just comparing.
    Happy for new appliances.

    Katrina

    Friday,July 10, 2009 at 8:10 am

  23. Oy.

    Jules

    Friday,July 10, 2009 at 4:07 pm

  24. I just got my first front loader about a month ago. I got this one http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8631974&type=product&id=1194051841052 though I didn’t pay 1300 for it. It’s so much better. Congratulations. So far I love mine.

    Eva

    Saturday,July 11, 2009 at 8:15 am

  25. oh, you poor thing. that falls under the “you don’t even want to know”, when
    hubbie comes home and ask, “what did you do today?”

    happy washing!

    leahelmerich

    Thursday,January 28, 2010 at 11:50 am


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 483 other followers

