Chocolatechic

A day in the life…

March 18

I know that everyone is biased about their children.

They are the brightest, the cutest, the sweetest…and I am no different.

I have the best kids in the world.

Monday while I took the girl to have her arm x-rayed,  knowing that I was going to be making the custard for the ice cream for today’s post, the boy made it for me.

(Her arm isn’t broken, just severely bruised…and swollen…and sore…and just awful looking)

It sat in the fridge over night, and yesterday morning around 10, I called the girl up from the dungeon where she was busily stuffing knowledge into her brain to take a picture for me.

She is just so sweet to do whatever I ask of her.

I set it to churning, set the timer for 30 minutes because that is how long it generally takes my ice cream machine to make ice cream.

I then grabbed my lovely bar of Victoria Toffee that See’s gave to me, and began to chop it up.

Since I have the will power of a kleptomaniac in Walmart, I had a bite or ten while waiting on the ice cream to freeze.

It was about this time when I felt Mr. Murphy begin to follow me around.   I even thought I heard him cackle a time or two.

After the timer went off, I went in to add my chunks’0′toffee.    The custard was still liquid.

So the timer was set for another 30 minutes.

And another, and another.

I won’t bore you with all the details of my weeping and gnashing of teeth, of my frantic texting to my son to get an idea of how to make ice cream when the thing wouldn’t freeze, of my emailing of friends for advice, of my BFF google  finding this way to fix it for me, of me thinking it would only be another 2-3 hours of stirring to make ice cream, of my freezer completely letting me down, of me around 5pm moving the still liquid custard to the deep freeze,  or of it finally being ice cream around 9pm.

I won’t, and you can’t make me.

So  after 11 hours of Mr. Murphy getting in my way, I finally had luscious Victoria Toffee Salted Butter Caramel Ice cream courtesy of See’s Candy company, my son, my derelict ice cream machine, my mostly broken refrigerator and my deep freeze.

And it was so worth every bit of all that frustration.

This ice cream has the most fabulous flavor.

Intensely caramel, buttery and slightly salty, and the chocolate covered toffee (if there is any left) compliments it to perfection.

Victoria Toffee Salted Butter Caramel  Ice Cream
(adapted from David Lebovitz)

  • 2 cups whole milk, divided
  • 1½ cups sugar
  • 4 tablespoons salted butter
  • scant ½ teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 cups  heavy cream
  • 5 large egg yolks
  • ¾ teaspoon vanilla extract

Make an ice bath by filling a large bowl about a third full with ice cubes and adding a cup or so of water so they’re floating. Nest a smaller metal bowl (at least 2 quarts) over the ice, pour 1 cup of the milk into the inner bowl, and rest a mesh strainer on top of it.

Spread 1½ cups sugar in the saucepan in an even layer. Cook over moderate heat, using a heatproof utensil to gently stir the liquefied sugar from the bottom and edges towards the center, stirring, until all the sugar is dissolved.

Once caramelized, remove from heat and stir in the butter and salt, until butter is melted, then gradually whisk in the cream, stirring as you go. The caramel may harden and seize, but return it to the heat and continue to stir over low heat until any hard caramel is melted. Stir in 1 cup of the milk. Whisk the yolks in a small bowl and gradually pour some of the warm caramel mixture over the yolks, stirring constantly. Scrape the warmed yolks back into the saucepan and cook the custard using a heatproof utensil, stirring constantly (scraping the bottom as you stir) until the mixture thickens. If using an instant-read thermometer, it should read 160-170 F.

Pour the custard through the strainer into the milk set over the ice bath, add the vanilla, then stir frequently until the mixture is cooled down. Refrigerate at least 8 hours or until thoroughly chilled. Freeze the mixture in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Add in your toffee bits (if there are any left) and let ice cream cure or harden in your fridge for at least 6 hours or overnight.

.

Written by chocolatechic

Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 8:01 am

Posted in Life

25 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. now I’m beginning to wonder if I should answer that email I got from See’s Candies….hmmm
    don’t you just love david’s recipes? always perfect.

    dawn

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 9:23 am

  2. Oh my! I hope that the girl’s arm gets better quickly. Your ice cream looks lovely, despite Mr. Murphy’s atempts to ruin it.

    Julie Beth

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 9:32 am

  3. Um. All I can say is YUM. Seriously. That’s it.

    Delta Whiskey

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 9:34 am

  4. Oh my word, this looks TO DIE FOR!

    Melissa

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 9:58 am

  5. Oh you are killing me! You should submit this to Ben and Jerry’s!!

    Vee

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 10:33 am

  6. Ooo, that does look really good. Too much trouble to make; therefore, since you already know how, you should make some for me. :)

    appliejuice

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 11:31 am

  7. It looks mighty good, but, I’ve never found anything better than plain old strawberry icecream. I’m old fashioned that way(maybe, I’m just old).

    cousin jerry

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    • Yep…I think it is the age thing.

      chocolatechic

      Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 1:16 pm

      • cuzin jerry….
        you still haven’t told what year you were born in
        gramps

        Willie

        Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 3:17 pm

  8. So do you know why your ice cream maker decided to give you fits?

    Next time just give Mr. Murphey and his law a swift kick in the batooie to send him on his way – just not up here to me, I think that the warmth of a certain place in FL would suit him better. :giggle:

    Elaine

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    • The bowl of the ice cream machine is supposed to be put in the freezer for at least 24 hours before using it.

      I always keep mine in my freezer, but my freezer/fridge isn’t working so hot, so the bowl wasn’t cold enough to make it freeze.

      chocolatechic

      Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 1:17 pm

  9. OH MY that looks good! I’d love to make it, but I’m not sure I can justify 5 egg yolks…thrifty-wise, nor healthy-wise. Any ideas for 5 egg whites??

    TropicGirl

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    • Meringues?

      A healthy omlet for the next day to offset the ill affects of the ice cream?

      chocolatechic

      Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 1:28 pm

  10. What happened to “the girl”? Is she OK? :(

    I need to get me an ice cream maker! I think I’ll put that on my list of kitchen items I would love to have, but don’t really need!

    Robin in New Jersey

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 2:44 pm

  11. Ice cream looks good, but I love that bowl it is in.

    aunt cindy

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 3:11 pm

  12. This looks incredibly delicious!

    Erin

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 7:37 pm

  13. Glad it turned out scruptious after all your trials making it! It looks and sounds lovely.

    Amber Marie

    Wednesday,March 18, 2009 at 9:09 pm

  14. Toffee ice cream!! It is so worth any amount of hassle.

    pam

    Thursday,March 19, 2009 at 6:42 am

  15. *THUMP!*

    Sorry, I fell off my chair.

    That looks FABULOUS!

    juju73

    Thursday,March 19, 2009 at 8:20 am

  16. What happened to her??

    Aunt Sandy

    Thursday,March 19, 2009 at 6:08 pm

  17. I’m sorry to hear your girl got hurt. That is scary to get dizzy and fall. Hope she heals quickly and feels better soon. ((gentle hug))

    seeker86

    Thursday,March 19, 2009 at 6:53 pm

  18. no way.. *looking in disbelief*. seriously I’ve got to stop drenching my keyboard.

    Sihan

    Thursday,March 19, 2009 at 10:10 pm

  19. Lol! I just got the same stuff from See’s and was going to make ice cream with it too! It looks fantastic! I guess I’ll start looking for a different recipe. ;)

    Susan at Sticky,Gooey,Creamy,Chewy

    Friday,March 20, 2009 at 10:21 am

  20. That icecream looks amazing..I am severely tempted to order some candy from See’s now…hmmm…can I pretend it is for easter and just eat it now?

    Mary

    Friday,March 20, 2009 at 1:58 pm

  21. I love See’s Candies. They’re so nice to help.

    Hélène

    Tuesday,March 24, 2009 at 7:56 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers

