Chocolatechic

A day in the life…

September 6

I was perusing ‘my blogs’ earlier this week, and when I clicked on Peabody’s .

She had this most amazing looking brownie/marshmallow/rice crispy treat thing staring at me.

It looked a little bit like this.

She had modified a recipe, and I modified her modifications just a bit more…’cause I can.

I asked the boy if he wanted to participate in making this. <—–sounded more like “Son, you want to make this for me, so I can  photograph it and  put it on my blog.”  He wanted to put it on his blog, but I called dibs first.

I really  hope you don’t mind doing dishes, ’cause this recipe uses a lot of bowls.

And a lot of whisking.

A lot.

The recipe says to take chocolate, butter and unsweetened chocolate and melt it over a double boiler.

Why do that when you can do it quicker in the microwave?

This is what it looks like after 1 minute in the microwave, and we are going to pretend that this picture is ‘supposed’ to be blurry.

I like living in a state of DeNile.

Give it a stir.

Pop that bowl back in for another 30 seconds and you have this.

This is 30 seconds more.   So, in 2 minutes we have done what would have taken about 5-10 in a double boiler.

I love short cuts.

Set this aside to cool.

In another bowl, whisk your dry ingredients together.

Set aside.

Get out yet another bowl and whisk eggs together.

Add sugar.

And vanilla to the eggs.

And whisk again.

Add chocolate to the egg mixture and whisk.

Again.

Stir the dry ingredients into your chocolate/egg mixture.

Fold in some more chocolate.

Pour into a well greased 9×13, and bake for 25-30 minutes.

This is where the problems began for us.   You see, I have been babying my turkey roaster that I have sitting on my front porch that I bake everything in during the summer summer kitchen for the entire summer.  It began to conk out on us last fall, and it has been on life support for about a month now.

During the baking of these brownies, it breathed baked it’s last.

Only we didn’t know it had died.

The middle is supposed to be slightly undercooked, because we are going to stick it back in the roaster oven, but it came out soupy.   Very. soupy.

Back outside we went, checking the dial, making sure it hadn’t come unplugged, begging it not leave us.   Summer is almost over, then it can die.   We still needed it.

The funeral was Tuesday when the trash men came and picked it up.

The recipe calls for mini-marshmallows.

I like marshmallows.  I like to eat them plain.   I like them roasted.  I like them on s’mores.   I like them in my hot chocolate.

But for brownies, this is what I like.

It melts smoother, and doesn’t have that ‘chewie-stick-to-your-teeth’ thing going on.

Spoon your lovely fluff on your almost but not quite baked brownies.

Spoon licking may or may not have occurred at this point.

I’ll never tell.

Spread, and pop back into your oven.  Not your summer kitchen, but the fall-winter-spring oven that is now heating up your entire previously cooled house.

Now we can make the topping.

Put some more chocolate, some peanut butter, and butter into a sauce pan.

Melt this over low heat.

I didn’t put this in the microwave, because I wasn’t sure how the peanut butter would do.  That, and I couldn’t convince the boy to do it either.

Stir in some rice cereal, and set this aside while your brownies are doing their thing in the oven.

Pour this over your fluff, and spread it out.

Now comes the really hard part.

It has to chill.

In the refrigerator.

A long time.

Marshmallow Crunch Brownies

  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 2/3 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, divided
  • 1 ¼   cups semisweet chocolate chips, divided
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½  tsp salt
  • 4 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 jar marshmallow fluff
  • 1 ½  cups milk chocolate chips
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp.  butter
  • 1 ½  cups rice cereal

Preheat oven to 350F.  Grease a 9×13-inch baking pan.

In a microwave safe bowl, melt the chocolate, butter, and ¾ cup of the semisweet chocolate chips for  1 minute.  Stir.  30 seconds, stir.  If needed, another 30 seconds.  Set aside and cool for 5 minutes.

In a medium bowl, sift the flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, place the eggs and whisk thoroughly. Add in the sugar and vanilla. Whisk the chocolate  into the egg mixture.

Stir in the dry  ingredients and mix well. Fold in the remaining ½  cup semisweet chocolate chips.
Pour the batter into  pan, and bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted into the corner of the pan comes out with moist crumbs.
Remove the brownies from the oven, and spread fluff over top. Return the pan to the oven for 3 more minutes.
While the brownies are baking, place the chocolate chips, peanut butter, and butter in a medium saucepan.

Cook over low heat, stirring constantly until melted. Remove from heat, add the cereal,and mix well.

Allow this to cool for 3 minutes or so.
Spread the mixture evenly over the marshmallow layer. Refrigerate until chilled before cutting.

These are simply wonderful.

Make mine, or go check out Peabody’s recipe, but make them.   You won’t be sorry.

Written by chocolatechic

Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 8:17 am

Posted in Life

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Now that looks like something I might have to try. ( if I can find the time and all those bowls).Nothing like chocolate and peanut butter!

    aunt cindy

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 8:53 am

  2. WHY oh WHY do you do this to me????

    Mom

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 9:01 am

  3. You’re killing me here. I have everything that is not essential packed away and that was most of the baking stuff and mixing stuff. As soon as I get moved. I am definitely making this!!!

    Bobbie

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 9:14 am

  4. These are my daugthers favorite bars!

    Thanks for the tip for using marshmallow fluff instead of marshmallows as I dont always have them on hand.

    I always melt my choc/pb in the microwave. I cook it for 1 min and then 30 sec increments til nice and beautifully creamy. In a plastic bowl not a glass one.

    On my grocery list is peanut butter so we can make these bars. YUM!

    Kath

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 9:47 am

  5. Whoa! Decadent!

    April

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 10:27 am

  6. Those look good. I’m looking for something to make with my kids at school – but this is definitely not one of them. I suppose if I get up early enough during the week, I can make them and take them in for our faculty lunch.

    How expensive is it and how many servings does this make?

    Iva

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 10:31 am

  7. I will say you are the Queen of Modifying….and I bow to your talents! Why??? Because every time I’ve attempted modifying a recipe it results in disaster. Total Disaster.

    I love sweets but even for me this looks a bit much, over the top for us diabetics-who-occasionally-cheat. HA.

    And…… wait a minute….. the boy has blog? THE BOY HAS HIS OWN BLOG? Where? You didn’t link to his blog?

    Bad mommy, bad mommy!!!

    Suzanne, the Farmer’s Wife

    the Farmer's Wife

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 1:02 pm

  8. This looks yummy! I probably won’t make it though, cause then I’d have to share with the Dc…I don’t share well!

    MissPlacedAlaskan

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 1:08 pm

  9. Yeah I noticed that too that you said the boy had a blog. Where oh where can we get in touch with the boy and his blog?

    Love these brownies. I have a family reunion coming up and I think I’ll make these for the desert! They look amazing!

    mrs darling

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 1:22 pm

  10. It looks yummy.
    Sorry about the “summer kitchen”, that is very tragic. Perhaps WM will have a good Black Friday Sale and one of these will be on it.

    Elaine

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 1:30 pm

  11. I put the boy’s blog up tomorrow. Not everyone checks the comments, so I will put it in my blog post.

    Yes, losing the summer kitchen was a sad day indeed.

    chocolatechic

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 1:45 pm

  12. That is one of the most beautiful pictures I have ever seen.

    Dorothy

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 2:30 pm

  13. Can I be in your family? (:

    Amy J

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 3:39 pm

  14. Yummm!
    The only thing that I’m not certain belongs in this recipe is the rice crispies, do they soggify the next day, that is in the remote chance they make it to the next day without being eaten ;)

    Stillwanabefrugal

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 4:18 pm

  15. These were made Monday. As of yesterday, it was still crunchy.

    chocolatechic

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 4:44 pm

  16. Does your daughter cook? Your son seems to really enjoy it. Your recipes always look amazingly scrummy. I’ll have to try this sometime but I’ve never seen anything like marshmallow fluff in England so it will have to be the minis!

    Sylvie (from Devon,England)

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 5:42 pm

  17. Oh…….
    My…….
    Stomach..
    I……..
    Think….
    I……..
    Died…..
    And……
    Went…..
    To…….
    Your…..
    House….

    Ginger

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 7:04 pm

  18. Sylvie~~my daughter likes to cook, however, because the boy and I are mostly in the kitchen, she doesn’t get much of a chance.

    chocolatechic

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 7:09 pm

  19. PS~~no marshmallow fluff in England???

    That is a shame. A very sad shame.

    Let me find a recipe for you.

    chocolatechic

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 7:10 pm

  20. Here is a great one.

    * 3 egg whites
    * 2 cups light corn syrup
    * 1/2 teaspoon salt
    * 2 cups icing sugar (confectioner’s)
    * 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

    In a large bowl, combine egg whites, corn syrup and salt; beat with mixer in high speed for 10 minutes or until thick. Add in icing sugar; beat on low speed until blended. Beat in vanilla until blended. Use this in any recipe called for marshmallow creme.
    *NOTE* This recipe makes a lot of fluff, but may be frozen for later use, just remove from freezer and stir well with a spoon, or it can be refrigerated for up to 1 week, just make sure to stir well with a spoon before using.

    chocolatechic

    Saturday,September 6, 2008 at 7:12 pm

  21. I am guessing this is low in fat and calories???? Am I guessing right…LOL

    Gill in Canada

    Gill

    Sunday,September 7, 2008 at 4:04 pm

  22. Colleen and I would like to make those. They look yummy!!

    gingerporter

    Tuesday,September 9, 2008 at 9:12 pm

  23. Oh my! Those look deadly. I will get some marshmallow fluff when I go to the store this week so that I can make these! Yummy!

    momofthree

    Sunday,September 28, 2008 at 1:46 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers

